38 Graduate & Postdoctoral HBHL Fellowships Awarded


Published: 4Oct2017

Following its pilot Graduate and Postdoctoral Fellowships competition launched last March, 38 fellowships were awarded in July for nearly $700,000 in funding. Over 220 applications were received and evaluated by a panel of 34 reviewers in three different committees (MSc, PhD and Postdoc). A total of 9 Masters, 24 Doctoral, and 5 Postdoctoral fellowships were awarded, valued at $10,000 (Masters), $15,000 (PhD) or $35,000 (Postdoc) each.

Winners are based at the downtown campus, as well as at the Montreal Neurological Institute and at the Douglas Research Institute, and represent a cross-section of departments: Human Genetics, Psychiatry, Psychology, Anthropology, Microbiology & Immunology, Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Biological & Biomedical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Kinesiology and Physical Education, and the Integrated Program in Neuroscience. This is perfectly indicative of the trans-disciplinary approaches favored in the HBHL initiative.

The winners are:

Masters level: Saashi (Alexandra) Bedford, Jessica Burdo, Tyler Cannon, Kaitlyn Easson, Ryan McPhedrain, Seung Hyun Min, Anmol Nagpal, Edwin Wong, Yang Zhang.

Doctoral level: Elizabeth Ankudowich, Sarah Barnett Burns, Matteo Bernabo, Peter Donhauser, Elizabeth DuPre, Nellie Fotopoulos, Andy Gao, Nuwan Hettige, Dorelle Hinton, Alexandre Hutton, Jace Jones-Tabah, Gregory Kiar, Vincent Laliberté, Carolina Makowski, Jo Mars, Philip Novosad, Felix Oestereich, Sarah Rosen, Dorothee Schoemaker, Golia Shafiei, Isabella Straub, Kristina Tchalova, Lianne Trigiani, Bruno Vieira.

Postdoctoral level: Boris Chaumette, Seyed-Mohammad Fereshtehnejad, Ricardo Pizarro, Elizaveta Solomonova, Benoît Vanderperre.


Congratulations to these bright young researchers!

Back to top