2021-2022 Student Awards and Prizes


Published: 12Sep2022

The Department of English is proud to recognize the following students who have been selected for the awards and scholarships listed below for the 2021-2022 academic year.

(The writing prizes are determined by committees made up of professors in the Department of English, who review submissions with the authors’ names removed.)

  • Algy Smillie Noad Memorial Prize for a superior Honours thesis
    Rebecca Turner
  • Allen A. Lang Essay Award for an essay on a topic related to either Canadian or American Literature after the year 1900
    Sasha Sepahpur
  • Catherine M. Shaw Shakespeare Award for the best essay on Shakespeare 
    Malte Zumbansen
  • Charles E. Fremes Memorial Scholarship, awarded to an undergraduate student who has shown achievement in both English and Communication Studies and who has demonstrated leadership
    Ha Nhuan Dong
  • Charles Macnaghten Prize offered annually in a competition for the best piece of creative writing in English submitted by an undergraduate student of the University, i.e., a story, a play, a poem, an essay, etc. 
    Molly Pearce
  • Charles William Snyder Memorial Scholarships for three outstanding students entering U3 in an Honours, Joint Honours, or Major program in English
    Alexandra Colby
    Zoe Lubetkin
    Faith Ruetas
  • Dora Forsyth Prize for an outstanding female student in the Department of English
    Una Sverko
  • Dow-Hickson Scholarships for outstanding students entering U2 or U3 in the Honours program in English Literature, Philosophy or Psychology
    Haider Ali
    Hwaan Han
    Faith Ruetas
    Lillian Simons
  • Elsie Stephen Reford Scholarships for an outstanding student in the Department of English
    Emma Weiser
  • Harry Barker Memorial Prize in English to the student with the highest standing in English in the initial year
    Haider Ali
  • James Darling McCall Scholarships for an outstanding student entering the final year in English Honours
    Lillian Simons
  • Jessie Norris Memorial Award, awarded on the basis of academic merit to a student in the Department of English who is entering the final year
    Hwaan Han
  • Lionel Shapiro Award for Creative Writing to one or more students in the final year of the B.A. course who have demonstrated outstanding literary talent
    Svetlana Simantov
  • Margaret & Graham Neeson Scholarship, awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student who has completed at least one year of the Honours English Program
    Savannah Sguigna
  • Mary Keenan Scholarship in English for a student proceeding to the M.A. in English at McGill (tie)
    Violette Drouin
    Jennifer Hua
  • Mona Elaine Adilman Poetry Prize for outstanding talent in the area of poetry
    Alexandra Beaudry
    Molly Pearce
  • Peterson Memorial Prize in English Literature to a student with distinction in English Literature who has also shown creative literary ability
    Molly Pearce
  • Shakespeare Gold Medal for English Language and Literature (which includes the Corinne Fay Tabac Memorial Prize in English Literature and the Lionel Shapiro Award for Achievement in English)
    Sarah Ford
Back to top