2020 Nappert Prize in International Arbitration

Published: 28 October 2019

Thanks to the generosity of Sophie Nappert (BCL’86, LLB’86), the Nappert Prize in International Arbitration will again be awarded by McGill University in 2020.

The Nappert Prize Competition is open to all students, junior scholars and junior practitioners from around the world. To be eligible for the prize, authors must:

  • be enrolled in a BCL, LLB, JD, LLM, DCL, or PhD program (or their local equivalents); or
  • have taken their most recent law degree within the last three years; or
  • have been admitted to the practice of law for no more than three years.

Co-authored submissions are permissible, but each author must meet the eligibility criteria. Moreover, only one author will be guaranteed a flight to Montreal for the symposium.


  • First place: Can$4,000
  • Second place: Can$2,000
  • Third place: Can$1,000

Winning one of the awards will carry with it the presentation of the paper at a symposium to be held at McGill University on October 20, 2020 (the expenses of the winners for attending the symposium will be covered). In addition, the best oralist will receive an award of Can$1,000.


April 30, 2020. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, there are no plans at this stage to change the existing timetable, but we are keeping an eye on the situation as it evolves.


The essay:

  • must relate to commercial or investment arbitration;
  • must be unpublished (not yet submitted for publication) as of April 30;
  • must be a maximum of 15,000 words (including footnotes);
  • must be written in English, French, or Spanish;
  • should use OSCOLA or some other well-established legal citation guide (e.g. McGill Red Book; Bluebook);
  • must be in MS Word format.


The jurors for the 2020 competition are as follows:

  • Professor Lawrence Boo, Adjunct Professor, National University of Singapore & Bond University
  • Mr Alexander Fessas, Secretary-General & Director of ICC Dispute Resolution Services, International Chamber of Commerce, Paris
  • Professor Fabien Gélinas, McGill University, Montreal
  • Professor Katia Fach Gómez, University of Zaragoza
  • Mr Diego B. Gosis, Partner, GST LLP, Miami
  • Dr Ridhi Kabra, Associate, Three Crowns LLP, London
  • Ms Meg Kinnear, Secretary-General, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes, Washington, DC
  • Ms Caline Mouawad, Partner, King & Spalding LLP, New York
  • Professor Marie-Claude Rigaud, University of Montreal

Submissions are to be emailed to Lucas Clover Alcolea (nappertprize [at] as an attached file on or before April 30, 2020. Submissions should be accompanied by a statement affirming the author’s eligibility for the competition, confirmation that the work is original to the author, and confirmation of the unpublished status of the paper. Review of the papers will start after April 30.

Enquiries should be sent to the same address: (nappertprize [at]

Back to top