2020-2021 Student Awards and Prizes


Published: 8Sep2021

The Department of English is proud to recognize the following students who have been selected for the awards and scholarships listed below for the 2020-2021 academic year.

(The writing prizes are all determined by committees made up of professors in the Department of English, who review submissions with the authors’ names removed.)


Algy Smillie Noad Memorial Prize for a superior Honours thesis

Alexandra Marian Barnes


Allen A. Lang Essay Award for the best essay on a topic related to either Canadian or American Literature after the year 1900

Charles Campbell Mascia


Catherine M. Shaw Early Drama Award for the best essay on early drama (tie)

Alexandra Marian Barnes

Ryan Laferrière


Catherine M. Shaw Shakespeare Award for the best essay on Shakespeare

Chloe Ray Holmquist


Charles E. Fremes Memorial Scholarship to an undergraduate student who has shown achievement in both Eng­lish and Communication Studies and who has demonstrated lead­ership

Sarah Emily Nicholson Ford


Charles William Snyder Memorial Scholarships for outstanding students entering U3 in either Honours, Joint Honours, or Major programs in English

Violette Khandro Barnard Drouin

Magdalena Stefania Nitchi

Alice Siyu Wu


Chester Macnaghten Prizes for the best piece of creative writing in English submitted by an undergraduate student of the University

First prize: Angelina Mazza

Second prize: Amir Hotter Yishay


Dora Forsyth Prize to an outstanding female student in the Department of English

Gillian Shihan Xu


Dow-Hickson Scholarship to outstanding students entering U2 or U3 in the Honours program in English Literature

Rose Jean Bostwick

Violette Khandro Barnard Drouin


Elsie Stephen Reford Scholarship to an outstanding student in the Department of English

Adam Emil Chatelan


Harry Barker Memorial Prize in English to the student with the highest standing in English in the initial year

Anna Isobel Chuprun


James Darling McCall Scholarships for an outstanding student entering the final year in English Honours

Brandon Kaufman


Jessie Norris Memorial Award, awarded on the basis of academic merit to a student in the Department of English who is entering the final year

Rose Jean Bostwick


Kay MacIver Memorial Prize for the best English essay in the field of English Canadian or French Canadian Literature

Sophia Francis Garnett


Lionel Shapiro Award for Creative Writing to one or more students in the final year of the B.A. course who have demonstrated outstanding literary talent

Sophia Francis Garnett

Kira Hoelscher


Margaret & Graham Neeson Scholarship, awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student who has completed at least one year of the Honours English Program

Una Sverko


Mary Keenan Scholarship in English for an outstanding student proceeding to the M.A. in English at McGill

Thuyen Viet Truong


Mona Elaine Adilman Poetry Prize for outstanding talent in the area of poetry

Martin Breul


Peterson Memorial Prize in English Literature to a student with distinction in English Literature who has also shown creative literary ability

Sophia Francis Garnett


Shakespeare Gold Medal for English Language and Literature

Chloe Ray Holmquist


Shakespeare Scholarship for a student advancing to the final year with special distinction in English Honours courses

Evelyne Clark Eng


Back to top