2019 Wallenberg Lecture with Justice Theron: Are We All Equal?


Chancellor Day Hall Maxwell Cohen Moot Court (NCDH 100), 3644 rue Peel, Montreal, QC, H3A 1W9, CA

Join us for the 2019 Wallenberg Lecture, which will be given by the Honourable Leona Theron, Justice of Constitutional Court of South Africa.

The South African Constitution remains one of the rare constitutions to allow for the judicial enforcement of socio-economic rights, while having the constitutional safeguard of the principle of separation of powers. However, inequality is still pervasive in South Africa—regardless of the fact that the Constitution requires the State to achieve the progressive realization of these rights. The lecture will explore the evolving jurisprudence of the South African Constitutional Court in relation to the realization of and giving effect to the right of equality.

About the speaker

Justice Leona Theron completed a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Law Degrees from Natal University, and was awarded a Fullbright Scholarship in 1989. She subsequently obtained a Master of Laws degree from Georgetown University, and worked for the International Labour Organization in Washington, DC.

She was first appointed to the bench in 1999, aged 33, becoming the first black woman judge on the KwaZulu-Natal High Court. In 2010, she was appointed as a Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal. In 2016, she was appointed to the Constitutional Court by President Zuma. She was appointed to the Constitutional Court in July 2017 to replace recently retired Johann van der Westhuizen. Over the years, Justice Theron has received numerous awards for her contribution to the development of justice in South Africa.

About the Wallenberg Lectures

Organized by the McGill Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism, the Wallenberg Lectures honour Raoul Wallenberg, the Swedish diplomat whose actions saved the lives of thousands of Jews in Hungary during the Second World War.

This event is eligible for inclusion as 1.5 hours of CLE as reported by members of the Barreau du Québec.


Back to top