Agenda - Academic Policy Committee Thursday 18th January 2018 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. – James Administration Building – Room 301

1. Approval of Agenda

2. Minutes of meeting of 14th December 2017 – for approval

on APC website

3. Business arising

i. Report on the Senate meeting of 17th January 2018

4. New Business

 Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs – for approval SCTP report #4 – meeting of December7th, 2017

18-APC-01-32

Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Faculty of Medicine

Ph.D. in Mental Health (0 cr.) – appendix A

Guest: Prof. Naguib Mechawar, Department of Psychiatry

M.Sc. in Epidemiology; Non-Thesis – Environmental and Occupational Health (48 cr.) – appendix B

Desautels Faculty of Management

B.Com.; Major in General Management; Concentration in Retail Management (15 cr.) – appendix C

Schulich School of Music

B.Mus.; Minor in Conducting (18 cr.) – appendix D

Faculty of Science

B.Sc.; Joint Honours in Physics and Computer Science (78-81 cr.) – appendix E

ii. Research Advisory Council – for approval

Proposal for the creation of the Yan P. Lin Centre for the Study of Freedom and Global Orders in the Ancient and Modern Worlds

18-APC-12-33

Guest: Prof. Lorenz Luthi, Department of History and Classical Studies

iii. Office of the Provost and Vice Principal (Academic) – for approval

Regulations Relating to the Employment of Tenure Track and Tenured Academic Staff: Guidelines for Developing a Service Portfolio 18-APC-01-34

5. Other

Academic Policy Committee Membership (2017-2018)

Ex-officio:

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), *Chair*Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity), *Vice-Chair*Angela Campbell
Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning)
Ollivier Dyens

Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs

Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning

Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or delegate Josephine Nalbantoglu

Chair, Council on Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations) or delegate Nancy Ross

Dean of Continuing Studies or delegate Judith Potter

Dean of Libraries or delegate Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain
Director, Teaching and Learning Services or delegate Laura Winer/Mariela Tovar

Representatives:

Board of Governors

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Dentistry

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Law

Sally McDougall (2019)

Petra Rohrbach (2020)

Eric Lewis (2018)

Mari Kaartinen (2020)

Mindy Carter (2020)

David Lowther (2020)

Mark Antaki (2020)

Desautels Faculty of Management Emine Sarigöllü (2019)
Faculty of Medicine Daniel Bernard (2020)
Schulich School of Music William Caplin (2018)
Faculty of Science Axel Hundermer (2018)

Undergraduate Student Muna Tojiboeva Undergraduate Student Isabelle Oke Undergraduate Student Ellen Chen

Graduate Student Shufeng Zhou/ Nicholas Dunn

MacDonald Campus Student Representative

Continuing Studies Student Representative

James Gutman

Voice but no Vote:

University Registrar and Director of Enrolment Services Anna Walsh (acting)

Secretary:

Academic Program Officer Julie Degans

Meeting Dates (2017-2018)

Thursdays, from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room <u>301</u>, James Administration Building *unless otherwise* indicated

September 21 February 8
October 12 (302) March 15 (302)

November 16 April 12
December 14 (302) May 10 (302)

January 18