Agenda - Academic Policy Committee Thursday 25th October 2018 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. – James Administration Building – Room 301

1. Approval of Agenda

| 2. | Minut | es of meeting of 9 th May 2018 – for approval | on APC website | |
|----|-------|---|--|--|
| 3. | New B | New Business | | |
| | i. | International Education – for approval Proposed Student Exchange Partnerships Proposed revisions to the approval process Guest: Prof. Phil Oxhorn, Associate Provost (International) | 18-APC-10-10 18-APC-10-11 | |
| | ii. | Faculty of Medicine – for approval Proposal to rename the Department of Ophthalmology Letter from the Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology Guest: Dr. David Eidelman, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine | 18-APC-10-12 18-APC-10-13 | |
| | iii. | Office of the Dean of Students – for information and discussion Memo from the Dean of Students Revised Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures Revised Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures (with mark-ups) Summary of the proposed revisions Guest: Mr. Glenn Zabowski, Associate Dean of Students | 18-APC-10-14a 18-APC-10-14b 18-APC-10-14c 18-APC-10-14d | |
| | iv. | APC's subcommittees annual reports – for information Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs – SCTP Subcommittee on Continuing Education - SCE Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning – STL Research and Advisory Council – RAC Council of Graduate and Postgraduate Studies – CGPS | 18-APC-10-01 18-APC-10-04 18-APC-10-05 18-APC-10-06 18-APC-10-07 | |
| | v. | APC's subcommittees membership – for approval SCTP proposed membership for 2018/2019 CGPS proposed membership for 2018/2019 | 18-APC-10-03 18-APC-10-08 | |
| | vi. | APC's annual report to Senate – for approval | 18-APC-10-09 | |
| | vii. | Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs – <i>for information</i> SCTP report #1 on the meeting of September 27 th 2018 | 18-APC-10-02 | |
| | viii. | Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal Academic – for approval Guidelines for Developing a Service Portfolio for Librarian Staff | 18-APC-10-15 | |

4. Other

Academic Policy Committee Membership (2018-2019)

Ex-officio:

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), Chair Christopher Manfredi Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity), Vice-Chair Angela Campbell Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning) Fabrice Labeau (interim)

Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs

Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning

Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or delegate Josephine Nalbantoglu

Chair, Council on Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations) or delegate Nancy Ross Dean of Continuing Studies or delegate Carola Weil

Dean of Libraries or delegate Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Director, Teaching and Learning Services or delegate Laura Winer/Adam Finkelstein

Representatives:

Board of Governors Sally McDougall (2019) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Petra Rohrbach (2020) Michael Smith (2021) Faculty of Arts Mari Kaartinen (2020) Faculty of Dentistry Faculty of Education Mindy Carter (2020) Faculty of Engineering David Lowther (2020) Faculty of Law Mark Antaki (2020)

Desautels Faculty of Management Emine Sarigöllü (2019) Faculty of Medicine Daniel Bernard (2020) Schulich School of Music Isabelle Cossette (2021) Faculty of Science Axel Hundemer (2021)

Undergraduate Student Ommu-Kulsoom Abdul-Rahman

Undergraduate Student Jacob Shapiro

Undergraduate Student TBD

Graduate Student Shufeng Zhou/TBD Shubhanker Joshi MacDonald Campus Student Representative Rod Louisa

Continuing Studies Student Representative

Voice but no Vote:

University Registrar and Director of Enrolment Services Gillian Nycum (interim)

Secretary:

Academic Program Officer Julie Degans

Meeting Dates (2018-2019)

Thursdays, from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 301, James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September 20 - cancelled February 14 (MD 388) October 25 March 14 (302)

November 15 April 11 December 13 (TBC) May 9 (302)

January 17