# Agenda – Academic Policy Committee Thursday 26th October 2023 – 3:00 to 4:00 p.m.

Room 301 of the James Administration Building

### **1.** Agenda – for approval

2. Minutes – for	informatio	n
------------------	------------	---

Notes of May 4<sup>th</sup>, 2023 and September 28<sup>th</sup>, 2023

on APC website

### 3. Business arising

#### i. Office of the Provost Vice Principal (Academic) – for discussion

- Reminder about the new Policy on Academic Freedom
- Documents pertaining to the role of APC

_	Memo from the Chair of APC	23-APC-09-01
_	Academic Freedom Violation Complaint Form	23-APC-09-02
_	Response to an Academic Freedom Violation Complaint Form	23-APC-09-03
_	Subcommittee on Academic Freedom Investigation Report	23-APC-09-04
Nominations for the Subcommittee on Academic Freedom – for information		23-APC-10-11

#### ii. Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs – for information

• SCTP report #12 on the meeting of May 11, 2023 23-APC-09-07

#### iii. Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning – for approval

23-APC-09-05

Recommendations from STL on the use of generative AI
 Guest: Lindsay Holmgren, Desautels Faculty of Management

#### iv. Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies – for approval

23-APC-09-06

 Revised composition of Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS) and membership for academic year 2023-2024

#### v. Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences – for approval

23-APC-09-08

- Proposal to change division names within the Department of Surgery
  - From Division of Experimental Surgery to Division Surgical and Interventional Sciences
  - From Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery to Division of Cardiac Surgery and Thoracic Surgery

# vi. Office of the Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning)

**Office of International Education** – *for approval* 

23-APC-09-09

- Proposal to establish three University-wide exchange agreements with:
  - The Luiss Guido Carli University (Italy),
  - Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú (Peru) and
  - University of Porto (Portugal)

# 4. New business

i.	Annual reports for 2022/2023 – APC's subcommittees – for information	
•	Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs – SCTP	23-APC-10-12
•	Council on Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies – CGPS	23-APC-10-13
•	Research and Advisory Council – RAC	23-APC-10-14
•	Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning – STL	23-APC-10-15
•	APC Annual Report to Senate for 2022/2023 – for approval	23-APC-10-16
ii.	Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs	
•	SCTP composition and membership for 2023/2024 – for approval	23-APC-10-17
•	SCTP report #1 on the meeting of September 14, 2023 – for information	23-APC-10-18
iii.	Office of the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) – for approval	
•	Memo from the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)	23-APC-10-19
•	Proposed Policy on Research Entities	23-APC-10-20
•	Proposed Procedures for Research Units	23-APC-10-21
•	Proposed procedures for Core Facilities	23-APC-10-22

Presented by Debra Titone, Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)

## **Academic Policy Committee Membership (2023-2024)**

Ex-officio:

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), Chair

Associate Provost (Teaching and Academic Planning), Vice-Chair

Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning)

Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation), or delegate

Trenholme Dean of Libraries or delegate

Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Christopher Manfredi

Christopher Buddle

Fabrice Labeau

Martha Crago

Guylaine Beaudry

Josephine Nalbantoglu

Dean of Continuing Studies Carola Weil
Chair of APC Sub-Committees (Director, Teaching and Learning Services) Laura Winer

Representatives:

Board of Governors Manon Vennat (2025)
Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Sandy Phillips (2025)
Faculty of Arts Michael Fronda (2024)

Faculty of Dentistry Elizabeth Zimmermann (2025)

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Lisa Bornstein (2025)

Faculty of Law

Marie Manikis (2025)

Desautels Faculty of Management

Faculty of Medicine

David Thomas (2026)

Schulich School of Music

Bronwen Low (2026)

Lisa Bornstein (2025)

Marie Manikis (2025)

John-Paul Ferguson (2025)

David Thomas (2026)

Isabelle Cossette (2024)

Schulich School of Music
Faculty of Science
Undergraduate Student
Undergraduate Student
Undergraduate Student

Undergraduate Student Naomi Pastrana Mankovitz

(Nursing)

Graduate Student TBA

MacDonald Campus Student Representative Vaishnavi Parey
Continuing Studies Student Representative Katherine Joseph

Voice but no vote:

University Registrar and Director of Enrolment Services Gillian Nycum
Secretary: Academic Program Officer Katharine Tiitson

#### Meeting Dates (2023-2024)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m., Room 301, James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September 28, 2023

October 26, 2023 February 15, 2024 November 23, 2023 from 4 to 5 p.m. March 28, 2024

December 14, 2023 from 1-2 pm – Arts room 160 April 25, 2024 from 1-2 pm – Arts room 160

January 25, 2024 May 21, 2024 from 2 to 3 p.m.