Agenda – Academic Policy Committee Thursday 23rd November 2023 – 4:00 to 5:00 p.m.

Room 301 of the James Administration Building

- 1. **Agenda** for approval
- 2. **Minutes –** *for approval*
 - Meeting of October 26th, 2023

on APC website

3. New business

i.	Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic) – for discussion	23-APC-11-23	
•	Revisions to the Regulation on Conflict of Interest		
	Guest: Dr. Angela Campbell, Associate Provost (Equity and Academic Policies)		
ii.	Office of the Associate Provost (Teaching and Academic Programs) – for discussion		
•	Academic Reviews Academic Year 2022-2023	23-APC-11-24	
•	APC Academic Review Tracker	23-APC-11-28	
	Guest: Dr. Phil Smith, Associate Director, Office of Academic Reviews		
iii.	Academic Policy Committee – for discussion		
•	Proposal to establish a Working Group on "contact hours"	23-APC-11-25	
iv.	Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs		
•	SCTP report #2 on the meeting of October 12th, 2023 – for approval	23-APC-11-26	
	Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies		
	Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences		
0	M.Sc. in Bioethics (45 cr.) – appendix A		
0	M.Sc. in Bioethics; Non-Thesis (48 cr.) - appendix B		
	Guest: Dr. Jennifer Fishman, Associate Professor,		
	Department of Equity, Ethics and Policy		
٠	Revised guidelines for proposing concentrations / options – for approval	23-APC-11-27	

Academic Policy Committee Membership (2023-2024)

Ex-officio: Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), Chair Associate Provost (Teaching and Academic Planning), Vice-Chair Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning) Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation), or delegate Trenholme Dean of Libraries or delegate Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies **Dean of Continuing Studies** Chair of APC Sub-Committees (Director, Teaching and Learning) Services) Representatives: **Board of Governors** Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Faculty of Arts Faculty of Dentistry Faculty of Education Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Law **Desautels Faculty of Management** Faculty of Medicine Schulich School of Music Faculty of Science Undergraduate Student Undergraduate Student **Undergraduate Student Graduate Student** MacDonald Campus Student Representative **Continuing Studies Student Representative** Voice but no vote: University Registrar and Director of Enrolment Services Secretary: Academic Program Officer

Christopher Manfredi Christopher Buddle Fabrice Labeau Martha Crago/delegate Debra Titone Guylaine Beaudry/delegate Christopher Lyons Josephine Nalbantoglu Carola Weil Laura Winer

Manon Vennat (2025) Sandy Phillips (2025) Michael Fronda (2024) Elizabeth Zimmermann (2025) Bronwen Low (2026) Lisa Bornstein (2025) Marie Manikis (2025) John-Paul Ferguson (2025) David Thomas (2026) Isabelle Cossette (2024) Axel Hundemer (2024) Keith Baybayon (Arts) Vivian Wright (Arts) Naomi Pastrana Mankovitz (Nursing) **Pavithran Pondicherry** Vaishnavi Parey Katherine Joseph

Gillian Nycum Katharine Tiitson

Meeting Dates (2023-2024)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m., Room 301, James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September 28, 2023			
October 26, 2023	February 15, 2024		
November 23, 2023 from 4 to 5 p.m.	March 28, 2024		
December 14, 2023 from 1 to 2 p.m. – Arts room 160	April 25, 2024 from 1 to 2 p.m. – Arts room 160		
January 25, 2024	May 21, 2024 from 2 to 3 p.m.		