# **Agenda - Academic Policy Committee** Thursday 16<sup>th</sup> November 2017 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. - James Administration Building, Room 301

### 1. Approval of Agenda

2.	Minutes of meeting of 21 <sup>st</sup> September 2017 – for approval	on APC website
3.	Minutes of meeting of 12 <sup>th</sup> October 2017 – for approval	on APC website
4.	New Business	
i	Report on the Senate meeting of 25 <sup>th</sup> October 2017	
ii.	Professional programs and revised program proposal process – for approval	17-APC-10-13
	Guest: Mr. Bradley Tucker, Executive Director - Analysis, Planning and Budget	17-APC-02-31
iii	Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies	
	Council on Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies – revised membership - for approval	17-APC-11-16
iv	SCTP report #2 – meeting of October 19 <sup>th</sup> , 2017 – for information	17-APC-11-15
V	Cyclical Unit Reviews – for discussion	
	Guest: Phil Smith, Associate Director, CUR	
	- Department of Mathematics and Statistics	

- - Self-Study (17-APC-11-18a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-18b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-18c)

Self-Study (17-APC-11-17a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-17b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-17c)

- Department of Geography
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-19a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-19b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-19c)
- **School of Information Studies** 
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-20a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-20b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-20c)
- Department of Ophthalmology
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-21a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-21b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-21c)
- School of Occupational and Physical Therapy
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-22a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-22b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-22c)
- McGill Writing Centre
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-23a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-23b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-23c)
- Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology

Institute for the Study of International Development

- Self-Study (17-APC-11-24a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-24b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-24c)
- Department of Music Research
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-25a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-25b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-25c)
- Department of Animal Science
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-26a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-26b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-26c)
- Department of Family Medicine
  - Self-Study (17-APC-11-27a), Review Committee Report (17-APC-11-27b) and unit's response (17-APC-11-27c)

#### 5. Other

#### **Academic Policy Committee Membership (2017-2018)**

Ex-officio:

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), *Chair*Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity), *Vice-Chair*Angela Campbell
Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning)
Ollivier Dyens

Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs

Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning

Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or delegate Josephine Nalbantoglu

Chair, Council on Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations) or delegate Nancy Ross

Dean of Continuing Studies or delegate Judith Potter

Dean of Libraries or delegate Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain
Director, Teaching and Learning Services or delegate Laura Winer/Mariela Tovar

Representatives:

Board of Governors

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Dentistry

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Law

Description

Sally McDougall (2019)

Petra Rohrbach (2020)

Mari Kaartinen (2020)

Mindy Carter (2020)

David Lowther (2020)

Mark Antaki (2020)

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Management

Faculty of Management

Faculty (2019)

Desautels Faculty of Management Emine Sarigöllü (2019)
Faculty of Medicine Daniel Bernard (2020)
Schulich School of Music William Caplin (2018)
Faculty of Science Axel Hundermer (2018)
Undergraduate Student Muna Tojiboeva

Undergraduate Student Muna Tojiboe
Undergraduate Student Isabelle Oke
Undergraduate Student Ellen Chen

Graduate Student Shufeng Zhou/ Nicholas Dunn

MacDonald Campus Student Representative

Continuing Studies Student Representative

James Gutman

Voice but no Vote:

University Registrar and Director of Enrolment Services Anna Walsh (acting)

Secretary:

Academic Program Officer Julie Degans

## Meeting Dates (2017-2018)

**Thursdays**, from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room <u>301</u>, James Administration Building *unless otherwise indicated* 

 September 21
 February 8

 October 12 (302)
 March 15 (302)

 November 16
 April 12

 December 14 (302)
 May 10 (302)

January 18