Academic Policy Committee Thursday 3rd April 2014 3:00 – 5:00 p.m.; Room 302 James Building Agenda

Document

		oval of agenda		
2.	Minut	tes of meeting of 20 th March 2014 (for approval)	on APC website	
3.	Business arising			
	i.	Faculty of Arts		
		M.S.W; Non-Thesis; International Partner Program (45 cr.)	14-APC-03-55	
4	NI 1		14-AI C-05-55	
4.		New business:		
	i. Revised Guidelines for the Principal's prize for Excellence in Teaching (for approval)			
		Laura Winer (APC)		
		a. Memo from Teaching and Learning Services	14-APC-04-69	
		b. Proposed revisions	14-APC-04-70	
	ii.	Proposed change to University Student Assessment Policy 3.1.5 (for approval)	
	11.	Proposed change to University Student Assessment Policy 3.1.5 (for approval)		
		a. University Student Assessment Policy	14-APC-04-71	
		b. Proposed revision - 3.1.5	14-APC-04-72	
	iii.	Proposed new Policy for students with advance standing (for approval)	14-APC-04-73	
	in ADC Subcommittee on Comment of Tradition Day			
	iv.	APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs	14 4 50 04 44	
		Report #10 on SCTP meeting of March 13, 2014 (for approval)	14-APC-04-64	
		a. Faculty of Arts		
		M.A.; Art History; Gender and Women's Studies; Non-Thesis (45 cr.)		
		b. Faculty of Medicine		
		PhD; Epidemiology; Population Dynamics (0 cr.)		
		M.Sc.; Public Health,; Population Dynamics; Non-Thesis (60 cr.)		
			(15	
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Non-Thesis (
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Nursing Services Administration; Non-Thesis	(49 cr.)	
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Nursing Education; Non-Thesis (49 cr.)		
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Neonatology Nurse Practitioner; Non-Thesis (45 cr.)	
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Global Health Direct Entry; Non-Thesis (58 cr		
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Global Health Clinical Nurse Specialist; Non-		
			Thesis (31 cf.)	
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Direct Entry Nursing; Non-Thesis (55 cr.)		
		M.Sc. (Applied); Nursing; Clinical Nurse Specialist; Non-Thesis (49 cr.)		
	v.	APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (for discussion and approval)		
	a. Review of the Department of Physiology			
		1 5 65	14 4 DC 04 65	
		i. Review documents	14-APC-04-65	
		a) Self-Study	Appendix a	
		b) Review Committee Report	Appendix b	
		c) Departmental response	Appendix c	
		ii. Summary of review and list of recommendations	14-APC-03-66	
		Summarizers: Prof. Kevin Wade (Dept of Animal Science) and Ms. Darine Bader (APC) -	- 3:45 p.m.	
		b. Review of the Department of Psychology		
			14-APC-04-67	
			Appendix a	
			Appendix b	
			Appendix c	
			Appendix d	
			14-APC-04-68	
		Summarizers: Prof. Fiona Benson (DISE) and Mr. Avik Ghoshdastidar (Graduate Studen	t) - 4 p.m.	
5.	Other	Business		

Regrets: please advise Julie Degans (398-2985) – Julie.degans@mcgill.ca

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2013-2014 - Membership

Provost, Chair of the Committee Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures, and Equity), Vice Chair	Anthony C. Masi Lydia White
Deputy Provost (Student Life & Learning)	Lydia Winte
Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) and	
Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (STL)	Ollivier Dyens
Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Grad. & Postdoct.	
Studies, Chair, Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)	Martin Kreiswirth
Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations),	
Chair, APC Subcommittee on Continuing Education	Sarah Stroud
Dean of Continuing Studies	Judith Potter
Dean of Libraries or delegate	C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain
Interim Director, Teaching and Learning Services	Laura Winer
Board of Governors	Sally McDougall (2016)
Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences	William Hendershot (2014)
Faculty of Arts	John Galbraith (2015)
Faculty of Dentistry	Laura Stone (2014)
School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education	Kimiz Dalkir (2014)
Faculty of Engineering	Arun Misra (2014)
Faculty of Law	Wendy Adams (2014)
Desautels Faculty of Management	Emine Sarigöllü (2016)
Faculty of Medicine	Craig Mandato (2014)
Schulich School of Music	Steven Huebner (2015)
Faculty of Religious Studies	Ian Henderson (2016)
Faculty of Science	Laurie Hendren (2014)
Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU	Joey Shea
Undergraduate student	Farzan Subhani
Undergraduate student	Alvin Kuate Defo
Graduate student	Boran Xu
Alternate graduate student	Alexander Deguise
Student, Macdonald Campus	Stephanie Somasundaram
Continuing Education Student	Darine Bader
Academic Program Officer (Secretary to the Committee)	Julie Degans

Meeting dates (2013-2014)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated September: 19 October: 3 and 31 November: 21 December: 12 January: 9 February: 6 and 20 (cancelled) March: 6 (cancelled) and 20 April: 3 and 17 May: 15 (Room 301, James)