Agenda - Academic Policy Committee Thursday 12th December 2019 - 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. MD 388

1. Approval of Agenda

2. Minutes of meeting of 31st October 2019 –for approval

on APC website.

3. New Business

i. Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs

Pr. Chris Buddle

o SCTP report #4 on the meeting of October 24 2019 — for approval 19-APC-12-18 New programs:

Faculty of Medicine

M.SC. (Applied) in Translational Biomedical Engineering: Non-Thesis (45cr.)

o SCTP report #5 on the meeting of November 7, 2019 —for information 19-APC-12-20

o SCTP report #6 on the meeting of November 21, 2019 *-for approval* 19-APC-12-21

New programs: Faculty of Medicine

Graduate Diploma in Oncology (30 cr.)

New Concentration:

Faculty of Science

Ph.D. in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences; Environment (0 cr.)

o SCTP – Standardizing Internship courses – for discussion 19-APC-12-19

ii. New Institute

Faculty of Medicine—for approval
 McGill Cancer Institute – Creation
 Guest: Dr. Eidelman and Dr. Park – 3.30 p.m.

19-APC-12-22

4. Teaching and Learning Services

Revised Teaching award Guidelines – for approval
 Adam Finkelstein – 3.45 p.m.

19-APC-12-23

Academic Policy Committee Membership (2019-2020)

Christopher Manfredi

Laura Winer/Adam Finkelstein

Angela Campbell Fabrice Labeau

Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic), Chair

Associate Provost (Equity and Academic Policies), Vice-Chair

Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning)

Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs

Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning

Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)

Nancy Ross or delegate

Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or delegate

Josephine Nalbantoglu

Chair, Council on Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Dean of Continuing Studies or delegate Carola Weil

Dean of Libraries or delegate Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain

Director, Teaching and Learning Services or delegate

Representatives:

Board of Governors Manon Vennat

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Petra Rohrbach (2020)

Faculty of Arts
Michael Smith (2021)
Faculty of Dentistry
Mari Kaartinen (2020)

Faculty of Education Wiari Raartinen (2020)

Limin Jao (2020)

Faculty of Engineering David Lowther (2020)

Faculty of Law Tina Piper(2020)

Desautels Faculty of Management Emine Sarigöllü (2019)
Faculty of Medicine Daniel Bernard (2020)

Schulich School of Music

Faculty of Science

Isabelle Cossette (2021)

Axel Hundemer (2021)

Undergraduate Student
Undergraduate Student
Undergraduate Student
Graduate Student
Graduate Student
Graduate Student
Sonia Soo

Graduate Student Sonja Soo
MacDonald Campus Student Representative Sonja Soo
Olivier Levesque

Continuing Studies Student Representative Rod Louisa

Voice but no Vote:

University Registrar and Director of Enrolment Services Gillian Nycum

Secretary:

Academic Program Officer Yasmine Jouhari

Meeting Dates (2019-2020)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. in Room <u>301</u>, James Administration Building *unless* otherwise indicated

September 20 - *cancelled* February 13 (MD 388)

October 17 March 19

October 30 April 16 (4:00 to 5:00 p.m.)
December 12 (MD 388) May 11 (4:00 to 5:00 p.m.)