Academic Policy Committee Thursday 6th February 2014 3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Building

Agenda

	Agenda				
			Documents	Time	
1.	Appro	val of agenda			
2	Minut	og of mosting of 0 th January 2014 (for ground 1)	on APC website		
2.	Minutes of meeting of 9th January 2014 (for approval) on AP				
3.	Business arising:				
	i.	Copibec – Guests: Amy Buckland and Daniel Boyer		3.05	
	ii.	Anonymous marking of examinations			
	iii.	Revised proposal - Faculty of Arts			
		BA; minor concentration in Indigenous Studies (18 cr.)	14-APC-02-52		
4.	New b	New business:			
	i.	Proposal - McGill University Structural Biology Centre	14-APC-02-50		
	1.	Sarah Stroud - APC	14-AF C-02-30		
	ii.	APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)	14-APC-02-51		
		SCTP Report # 7 from SCTP meeting on December 5 th , 2013 (for appr			
		. It is C.A. de			
		culty of Arts .A; Economics; Non-Thesis; Population Dynamics (45 cr.)			
		A; Sociology; Non-Thesis; Population Dynamics (45 cr.)			
		D; Sociology; Population Dynamics			
		culty of Education			
	,	A; School/Applied Child Psychology; Non-Thesis; project (60 cr.)			
		culty of Medicine			
		raduate Certificate; Driving Rehabilitation, (15 cr.)			
	iii.	Undergraduate learning outcomes Working Group	14-APC-02-49	4.00	
	111.	Guest: Ellen Aitken	14-A1 C-02-49	4.00	
	iv. APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (for discussion and approval)				
	a) Re	eview of the Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences		4.15	
	i.	Review documents:	14-APC-02-43		
		a. Self Study	Appendix a		
		b. Review Committee Report	Appendix b		
		c. Department Response	Appendix c		
		d. Dean's Response	Appendix d		
	ii.	Summary of Review and List of Recommendations	14-APC-02-44		
	Su	mmarizers: Prof. Hani Mitri (Dept of Mining & Materials Engineering), student, APC)	Ms Joey Shea (undergr	aduate	
	b) Re	eview of the Faculty of <i>Dentistry</i>		4.30	
	i.	Review documents:	14-APC-02-47		
		a. Self Study	Appendix a		
		b. Review Committee Report	Appendix b		
		c. Dean's Response	Appendix c		
	ii.	Summary of Review and List of Recommendations	14-APC-02-48		
	Su	mmarizers: Prof. David Boruchoff (Dept of Languages, Literatures & Cu (undergraduate student)	ultures), Ms Haley Hatc	h-Dinel	
	c) Re	eview of the Institute of Parasitology			
	i.	Review documents:	14-APC-02-41		
	1.	a. Self Study	Appendix a		
		b. Review Committee Report and External Report	Appendix b		
		c. Institute Response	Appendix c		
		d. Dean's Response	Appendix d		
	ii.	Summary of Review and List of Recommendations	14-APC-02-42		
	Cu	mmarizar: Prof. Lauria Handron (APC)			

Summarizer: Prof. Laurie Hendren (APC)

d) Review of the Department of Chemistry

Review documents:

a. Self Study

b. Review Committee Report

c. Department Response

d. Dean's Response

Appendix c

Appendix c

Appendix c

Appendix c

Appendix d

Appendix d

Appendix d

Appendix d

Appendix d

Appendix d

iii. Addendum to the Department's response 14-APC-02-53

5. Other business

ii.

REGRETS: please advise julie.degans@mcgill.ca (398-2985)

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2013-2014

Membership

Martin Kreiswirth

Provost, Chair of the Committee Anthony C. Masi Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures, and Equity), Vice Chair Lydia White

Deputy Provost (Student Life & Learning)

Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) and

Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (STL)

Ollivier Dyens Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Grad. & Postdoct.

Studies, Chair, Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations),

Chair, APC Subcommittee on Continuing Education Sarah Stroud Dean of Continuing Studies Judith Potter

Dean of Libraries or delegate C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain

Interim Director, Teaching and Learning Services Laura Winer

Board of Governors Sally McDougall (2016)

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Arts John Galbraith (2015)

Faculty of Dentistry Laura Stone (2014)

School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education Kimiz Dalkir (2014) Faculty of Engineering Arun Misra (2014) Faculty of Law Wendy Adams (2014) Desautels Faculty of Management Emine Sarigöllü (2016)

Faculty of Medicine Craig Mandato (2014) Schulich School of Music Steven Huebner (2015) Faculty of Religious Studies Ian Henderson (2016) Faculty of Science Laurie Hendren (2014)

Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU Joey Shea Undergraduate student Farzan Subhani Undergraduate student Alvin Kuate Defo

Graduate student Boran Xu

Alternate graduate student Alexander Deguise Student, Macdonald Campus Stephanie Somasundaram Continuing Education Student Darine Bader

Academic Program Officer (Secretary to the Committee) Julie Degans

Meeting dates (2013-2014)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building, unless otherwise indicated

September: October: 3 and 31 November: 21 December: 12 January:

February: 6 and 20 March 20 April: 3 and 17

May: 15 (Room 301, James)

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2013-2014