

Report of the Academic Policy Committee D12-04

439th REPORT OF THE ACADEMIC POLICY COMMITTEE TO SENATE

on APC meeting held on 24th May 2012

I. <u>TO BE APPROVED BY SENATE</u>

- (A) NEW TEACHING PROGRAMS REQUIRING SENATE APPROVAL (approvals of new minors and options added to existing programs and major revisions to programs are reported in Section IV.A.1.a. for information) *none*.
- (B) ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE ISSUES / POLICIES / GOVERNANCE/AWARDS none
- (C) CREATION OF NEW UNITS / NAME CHANGES / REPORTING CHANGES none
- (D) CHANGES IN DEGREE DESIGNATION none

II. <u>TO BE ENDORSED BY SENATE / PRESENTED TO SENATE FOR DISCUSSION</u> - none.

III. <u>APPROVED BY APC IN THE NAME OF SENATE</u>

(A) **DEFINITIONS** – none

(B) STUDENT EXCHANGE PARTNERSHIPS / CONTRACTS / INTERUNIVERSITY PARTNERSHIPS

- University of Zürich (Universität Zürich)

At a meeting on 24th May 2012, APC reviewed and approved a proposal for a student exchange agreement with the University of Zürich that will be limited to undergraduate students, but may be expanded to include graduate students upon renewal, should all parties support the expansion. Partnership with the University of Zürich was proposed and supported by the Department of Political Science. It builds on links that already exist between the Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship of which McGill is a member and the National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR)-Democracy of the University of Zürich and provides good opportunities for new collaborations. The Department of Political Science of the University of Zürich typically offers about twenty courses in English that deal with topics likely to be of interest to McGill students. Universität Zürich, one of the leading research universities in Europe, was founded in 1833, although its origins stretch back as far as 1525 and the days of protestant reformer Ulrich Zwingli. Universität Zürich, Switzerland's largest university (26,000 students), is a member of the "League of European Research Universities" (LERU), an association of twenty-one leading research-intensive universities that share the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research. Faculties include: Arts, Science, Theology, Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, Law, and Economics, Business Administration and Information Technology.

IV. FOR THE INFORMATION OF SENATE

A) APPROVAL OF COURSES AND TEACHING PROGRAMS

1. Programs

- a) APC approvals (new options/concentrations and major revisions to existing programs)
 - i. New concentrations/options within existing programs

Faculty of Arts and Faculty of Science

Approved by APC on 24th May 2012:
B.A.&Sc.; Honours in Sustainability, Science and Society (60 cr.)

Schulich School of Music

Approved by APC on 24th May 2012:
B.Mus.; Minor in early Music Performance (18 cr.)

ii. Major revisions of existing programs

Faculty of Medicine

Approved by APC on 24th May 2012:

- Name change from Ph.D.; Anatomy and Cell Biology to Ph.D.; Cell Biology

- Name change from M.Sc.; Anatomy and Cell Biology (48 cr.) to **M.Sc.; Cell Biology** (45 cr.)

Faculty of Arts and Faculty of Science

Revisions to the B.A.& Sc. Degree requirements

- Interfaculty Program Requirements

Approved on 24^{th} May 2012: a proposal to amend the rule regulating credit-counts (section 6.5.4 Interfaculty Program) to read: "...complete at least 30 21 credits in the Faculty of Arts and at least 30 21 in the Faculty of Science as part of your Interfaculty program and your Minor concentration or Minor program." The effective date of implementation is September 2012.

- Retiring the Double Minor Option

Approved on 24th May 2012: a proposal to retire the Double-Minor Option from the B.A.&Sc. The effective date of implementation is September 2013. The change does not apply to students currently in the program.

Faculty of Education

Concentrations coding for streams within three Educational Psychology programs

Approved by CGPS on 23rd May and by APC on 24th May 2012:

- a proposal that six of the current "streams" within three graduate programs be identified as "concentrations", i.e. Health Professions Education, Human Development, Learning Sciences, General Education Psychology, Family Life Education and Inclusive Education:

M.A.; Educational Psychology; Thesis Health Professions Education (15 cr.) Human Development (15 cr.) Learning Sciences (15 cr.)
M.Ed.; Educational Psychology; Non-Thesis General Educational Psychology (27 cr.) Family Life Education (27 cr.) Inclusive Education (27 cr.) Learning Sciences (27 cr.)
Ph.D.; Educational Psychology Learning Sciences

Human Development

- a proposal that the current "stream" School/Applied Child Psychology (45 cr.) in the M.A.; Educational Psychology; Thesis be identified as a distinct "major".

- **b**) APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) approvals (Summary reports: <u>http://www.mcgill.ca/sctp/documents/</u>)
 - i. Moderate and minor program revisions

Faculty of Agriculture and Environment Sciences *Approved by SCTP on 26th April 2012:*

- B.A.; Environment; Economics and the Earth's Environment; Faculty Program (54 cr.)
- B.A.; Environment; Ecological Determinants of Health in Society; Faculty Program (54 cr.)
- B.A.; Environment; Environment and Development; Faculty Program (54 cr.)

Faculty of Education

Approved by SCTP on 26th April 2012:

- M.A.; Teaching and Learning; Science Technology; Non-Thesis (60 cr.)
- M.A.; Teaching and Learning; Mathematics; Non-Thesis (60 cr.)

Faculty of Medicine

Approved by SCTP on 10th May 2012:

- M.Sc.(A); Communication Sciences and Disorders; Non-Thesis (74 cr.)

Approved by SCTP on 12th May 2012:

- M.Sc.; Public Health; Non-Thesis (60 cr.)
- M.Sc.; Public Health; Environment (60 cr.)
- ii. Program retirements

Faculty of Arts and Faculty of Science

- B.A.&Sc.: Retirement of the Double-Minor option, effective September 2013 (see Major Revisions, above).

2. Courses

a) New Courses:

School of Continuing Studies: 2 (*12th April 2012*) Faculty of Engineering: 1 (*12th April 2012*) Faculty of Medicine: 3 (*26th April 2012*)

b) Course Revisions:

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences: 2 (26th April 2012) Faculty of Education: 25 (26th April 2012) Faculty of Law: 2 (12th April 2012)

c) Course retirements: *none*

(B) OTHER – none