Academic Policy Committee Thursday 21st November 2013

3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Building

Proposed Agenda

Troposeu Hgenua	Documents	TIME
 Approval of proposed agenda Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 31st October 2013 (for approval) Business arising (see items 5b, 7, 8d i & ii, 8e) 	on APC website	
4. Draft Annual APC Report to Senate – plans & priorities 2013-2014	13-APC-11-20	
 5. APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) a) SCTP Report # 4 from SCTP meeting on 10th October 2013 i. B.Com; Major in General Management; Concentration in Managing for Sustainability (15 cr.) – new Concentration [not option] 	13-APC-11-21	
ii. B.Com; Major in Managing for Sustainability (39 cr.) – new major. b) SCTP membership	13-APC-11-28	
 7. Nomenclature of academic entities Revised report from the Workgroup on Academic Units/Entities, 8th Nov. 2013 Appendix A – Illustrations for each academic entity category Appendix B – Table of criteria by entity category 	13-APC-05-76 #2 Appendix A #2 Appendix B #2	
8. APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (for presentation and discussion a) School of Communication Sciences & Disorders)	
 i. Review documents: a. Self Study b. Internal Reviewers Report and External Reviewers' Report c. Director's comments d. Dean's Response ii. Summary of Review and List of Recommendations Summarisers: Dean Judith Potter & Alexander Deguise (members of APC) b) Department of Physics 	13-APC-11-22 Appendix a Appendix b Appendix c Appendix d 13-APC-1123	
 i. Review documents: a. Self Study b. Internal Reviewers Report and External Reviewers' Report c. Chair's comments d. Dean's Response ii. Summary of Review and List of Recommendations Summarisers: Prof Nik Luka [Schools of Architecture & Urban Planning] & Stephanie Somasundaram (member of APC) c) Department of Integrated Studies in Education 	13-APC-11-24 Appendix a Appendix b Appendix c Appendix d 13-APC-1125	4:15 p.m.
 i. Review documents: a. Self Study b. Internal Reviewers Report and External Reviewers' Report c. Chair's comments d. Dean's Response ii. Summary of Review and List of Recommendations Summarisers: Ms Sally McDougall & Boran Xu (members of APC) d) Identification of issues for comment in earlier reviews: i. Review of the Department of Philosophy 	13-APC-11-26 Appendix a Appendix b Appendix c Appendix d 13-APC-1127	
 documents pertaining to the review Summary and List of Recommendations ii. Review of the Department of Translation and Written Communication (documents pertaining to the review Summary and List of Recommendations 	13-APC-05-79abcd 13-APC-05-80 SCS) 13-APC-10-08abcd 13-APC-10-09	2
e) Verbal proposal to review the Academic Unit Review process		

8. Other business

REGRETS: please advise <u>Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca</u> (398-2985)

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2013-2014

Membership

Martin Kreiswirth

Provost, Chair of the Committee Anthony C. Masi Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures, and Equity), Vice Chair Lydia White

Deputy Provost (Student Life & Learning)

Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) and

Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (STL)

Ollivier Dyens Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate & Postdoctoral

Studies, Chair, Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations),

Chair, APC Subcommittee on Continuing Education Sarah Stroud

Dean of Continuing Studies Judith Potter

Dean of Libraries or delegate C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain

Interim Director, Teaching and Learning Services Laura Winer

Sally McDougall (2016) **Board of Governors** Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Arts John Galbraith (2015) Faculty of Dentistry Laura Stone (2014)

School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education Kimiz Dalkir (2014) Faculty of Engineering Arun Misra (2014) Faculty of Law Wendy Adams (2014)

Desautels Faculty of Management Emine Sarigöllü (2016) Faculty of Medicine Craig Mandato (2014) Schulich School of Music Steven Huebner (2015)

Faculty of Religious Studies Ian Henderson (2016) Faculty of Science Laurie Hendren (2014)

Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU Joey Shea Undergraduate student Farzan Subhani Undergraduate student **Amine Arezki**

Graduate student Boran Xu Alternate graduate student **Alexander Deguise**

Student, Macdonald Campus **Stephanie Somasundaram** Continuing Education Student TBA

Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee) Helen M.C. Richard

Meeting dates

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building, unless otherwise indicated

September: October: 3 and 31 November: 21 December: 12 January:

February: 6 and 20

March: 6 and 20 (Room 301, James)

April: 3 and 17

15 (Room 301, James) May:

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2013-2014