# **Academic Policy Committee**

## Thursday 2<sup>nd</sup> May 2013

## 3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Administration Building

## Agenda

|  | Documents                  | TIME |
|--|----------------------------|------|
| 1. Proposed agenda   |                            |      |
| 2. Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 11 <sup>th</sup> April 2013 (for approval)  | on APC website             |      |
| 3. Business arising  |                            |      |
| 4. Report on Senate and Board of Governors approvals (for information)   |                            |      |
| 5. Proposed revisions to APC's Terms of reference (for information)  | 13-APC-05-66               |      |
| <ul><li>6. APC Subcommittee on Continuing Education (for approval)</li><li>- Proposed revisions to terms of reference and membership 2012-2013</li></ul> | 13-APC-05-62               |      |
| 7. APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)  |                            |      |
| - Report # 12 from the SCTP meeting of 4 <sup>th</sup> April 2013 (for information)  | 13-APC-05-63               |      |
| 8. APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (for presentation & discussion) - School of Social Work, Faculty of Arts                                    |                            |      |
| i. Review documents:   | 13-APC-05-64               |      |
| a. Self Study  | Appendix a                 |      |
| b. Internal Reviewers Report   | Appendices b and c         |      |
| c. External Reviewers' Report, appended to b   |                            |      |
| d. School's Response   | Appendix d                 |      |
| e. Dean's Response   | Appendix e<br>13-APC-05-65 |      |
| ii. Summary of Review Subcommittee members: Prof. Craig Mandato (APC member, Faculty of Medicine)  | 13-AFC-03-03               |      |
| and Ms. Haley Hatch-Dinel (undergraduate student, APC member)  |                            |      |
| 9. APC Workgroup on Distance Education (for presentation & discussion)   |                            |      |
| - Report: Some Thoughts and Questions about "Distance Education" at McGill   | 13-APC-04-60               |      |
| Reference documents:   |                            |      |
| - Report of the STL Working Group on Distance Education  | 13-APC-03-49               |      |
| - Proposed Distance Education Guidelines   | 13-APC-03-50               |      |
| 10. Proposed APC Assessments of Academic Unit Reviews (for approval)   |                            |      |
| a) School of Computer Science  | 13-APC-05-67               |      |
| b) Institute of Islamic Studies  | 13-APC-05-68               |      |
| c) Department of Oncology  | 13-APC-05-69               |      |
| d) Career and Professional Development   | 13-APC-05-70               |      |

#### 11. Other business

REGRETS: please advise <u>Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca</u> or Teresa Dagostino (398-3109)

# Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2012-2013

#### Membership

Anthony C. Masi Provost, Chair of the Committee

Morton J. Mendelson Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), Vice Chair

Chair of the Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)

Chair of the Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (SCTL)

Martin Kreiswirth Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies, Chair of the Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

**Sarah Stroud** Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)

Judith Potter Dean of Continuing Studies C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Dean of Libraries or delegate

Cynthia Weston Director, Teaching and Learning Services

Sally McDougall (2010) Board of Governors

William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

John Galbraith (2015) Faculty of Arts Laura Stone (2014) Faculty of Dentistry

Kimiz Dalkir (2014) School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education

Arun Misra (2014) Faculty of Engineering

Wendy Adams (2014) Faculty of Law

Paola Perez-Aleman (2013) Desautels Faculty of Management

Craig Mandato (2014) Faculty of Medicine
Steven Huebner (2015) Schulich School of Music
Ian Henderson (2016) Faculty of Religious Studies

Laurie Hendren (2014) Faculty of Science

Haley Hatch-Dinel Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU

Edward Chiang (to 11-2012) /

Nikhil Srinidhi (fr 14-11-2012) Undergraduate student Max Zidel Undergraduate student Avik (Jim) Ghoshdastidar Graduate student

Peter Tikasz (to 04-2013) Student, Macdonald Campus

**Stephanie Somasundaram** 

Eric Laverdiere Continuing Studies Student

Helen M.C. Richard Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

### **Meeting dates**

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September: 13 (cancelled)
October: 4 and 25

November: 8 and 22
December: 13 (*Arts 160*)
January: 17 and 31

February: 14
March: 7 and 21
April: 11
May: 2 and 23

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2012-2013