Academic Policy Committee

Thursday 21st March 2013

3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Administration Building

Agenda

1. Duamaged arounds		TIME
1. Proposed agenda		
2. Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 7 th March 2013 (for approval) on	APC website	
3. Business arising		
a) University of Cape Town, Faculty of Commerce, South Africa b) Stellenbosch University, Economic and Management Sciences, South Africa c) American University of Cairo, School of Business, Egypt d) University of Ghana, Business School, Ghana e) National University of Taiwan, College of Management, Taiwan f) Xiamen University, School of Management, China g) University of St. Gallen, Switzerland	13-APC-03-53	
Guest: Prof. Emine Sarigollu, Associate Dean (Student Affairs), Desautels Faculty of Management		3:00 p.m.
5. APC Subcommittee on Courses and teaching Programs (SCTP) Report # 10 from the SCTP meeting of 28 th February 2013	13-APC-03-54	
New programs (for approval): a) Diploma in Integrated Aviation Management (30 cr.) Guest: Inna Popova, Associate Director, Professional Development and Corporate		3:15 p.m.
Training, School of Continuing Studies b) Certificate in TESOL (12 CEUs) Guest: Effie Dracopoulos, Program Coordinator, English for Professional Communication (PTP), Customized Language Training, and Professional Develops School of Continuing Studies	ment,	3:25 p.m.
6. Academic Unit Reviews		
 Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology i. Review documents: a. Self-Study b. Statement from previous Department Chair to Review Committee c. Review Committee Report d. External Reviewers' Major Recommendations e. Departmental Response f. Dean's Response ii. Summary of Review SAUR members: Prof. Steven Huebner, (APC member, Schulich School of Music an Mr. Habib Ur Rehman, Undergraduate Student, Desautels Faculty of Management 	13-APC-03-55 Appendix a Appendix b Appendix c Appendix d Appendix e Appendix f 13-APC-03-56	3:30 p.m.

7. Other business

REGRETS: please advise <u>Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca</u> or Teresa Dagostino (398-3109)

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2012-2013

Membership

Anthony C. Masi Provost, Chair of the Committee

Morton J. Mendelson Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), Vice Chair

Chair of the Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)

Chair of the Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (SCTL)

Martin Kreiswirth Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies, Chair of the Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

Sarah Stroud Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)

Judith Potter Dean of Continuing Studies C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Dean of Libraries or delegate

Cynthia Weston Director, Teaching and Learning Services

Sally McDougall (2010) Board of Governors

William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

John Galbraith (2015) Faculty of Arts Laura Stone (2014) Faculty of Dentistry

Kimiz Dalkir (2014) School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education

Arun Misra (2014) Faculty of Engineering

Wendy Adams (2014) Faculty of Law

Paola Perez-Aleman (2013) Desautels Faculty of Management

Craig Mandato (2014) Faculty of Medicine **Steven Huebner** (2015) Schulich School of Music

Ian Henderson (2013) Faculty of Religious Studies

Laurie Hendren (2014) Faculty of Science

Haley Hatch-Dinel Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU

Edward Chiang (to 11-2012) /

Nikhil Srinidhi (fr 14-11-2012) Undergraduate student Max Zidel Undergraduate student Avik (Jim) Ghoshdastidar Graduate student

Peter TikaszStudent, Macdonald CampusEric LaverdiereContinuing Studies Student

Helen M.C. Richard Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

Meeting dates

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September: 13 (cancelled)
October: 4 and 25
November: 8 and 22
December: 13 (Arts 160)
January: 17 and 31

February: 14 March: 7 and 21

April: 11 (*Ferrier 456*) May: 2 and 23 (*Arts 160*)

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2012-2013