Academic Policy Committee

Thursday 7th March 2013

3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Administration Building

Agenda

TIME 1. Proposed agenda 2. Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 14th February 2013 (for approval) on APC website 3. Business arising - Principal's Prize for Excellence in Teaching – revised Guidelines Revised 13-APC-02-46 4. Senate and Board of Governors approvals 5. APC Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning **Working Group on Distance Education** 13-APC-03-49 - Report of the Working Group - Proposed Distance Education Guidelines 13-APC-03-50 Guest: Jean-Paul Remillieux, Director, Instructor Services & Educational Technologies, School of Continuing Studies 3:05 p.m. 6. APC Subcommittee on Courses and teaching Programs (SCTP) (for information) Report # 9 from the SCTP meeting of 7th February 2013 13-APC-03-51 7. Research Advisory Council - Proposed Principal Prize for Excellence in Research 13-APC-03-52 8. Other business

REGRETS: please advise <u>Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca</u> or Teresa Dagostino (398-3109)

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2012-2013

Membership

Anthony C. Masi Provost, Chair of the Committee

Morton J. Mendelson Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), Vice Chair

Chair of the Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)

Chair of the Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (SCTL)

Martin Kreiswirth Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies, Chair of the Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

Sarah Stroud Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)

Judith Potter Dean of Continuing Studies C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Dean of Libraries or delegate

Cynthia Weston Director, Teaching and Learning Services

Sally McDougall (2010) Board of Governors

William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

John Galbraith (2015) Faculty of Arts Laura Stone (2014) Faculty of Dentistry

Kimiz Dalkir (2014) School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education

Arun Misra (2014) Faculty of Engineering

Wendy Adams (2014) Faculty of Law

Paola Perez-Aleman (2013) Desautels Faculty of Management

Craig Mandato (2014) Faculty of Medicine **Steven Huebner** (2015) Schulich School of Music

Ian Henderson (2013) Faculty of Religious Studies

Laurie Hendren (2014) Faculty of Science

Haley Hatch-Dinel Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU

Edward Chiang (to 11-2012) /

Nikhil Srinidhi (fr 14-11-2012) Undergraduate student
Max Zidel Undergraduate student
Avik (Jim) Ghoshdastidar Graduate student

Peter TikaszStudent, Macdonald CampusEric LaverdiereContinuing Studies Student

Helen M.C. Richard Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

Meeting dates

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September: 13 (cancelled)
October: 4 and 25
November: 8 and 22
December: 13 (Arts 160)
January: 17 and 31

February: 14 March: 7 and 21

April: 11 (*Ferrier 456*) May: 2 and 23 (*Arts 160*)

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2012-2013