Academic Policy Committee

Thursday 22nd November 2012

3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Administration Building

Agenda

1. Proposed agenda		
2. Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 8 th November 2012	on APC website	
3. Business arising		
4. APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (SAUR)		
a) Department of East Asian Studies		
i. Review documents:	12-APC-11-23	
a. Self Study	a	
b. Internal Reviewers Report	b and c	
c. External Reviewers' Report, appended to b		
d. Department Response	d	
e. Dean Response	е	
ii. Summary of Review	12-APC-11-24	
Subcommittee members:		
Prof. Wendy Adams and Ms. Marie-Elyse Lafaille-Magnan (Medicine Grad stud	lent)	
b) Institute of Islamic Studies		
i. Review documents:	12-APC-11-25	
a. Self Study	a	
b. Internal Reviewers Report	b and c	
c. External Reviewers' Report, appended to b		
d. Institute Response	d	
e. Dean Response	е	
ii. Summary of Review	12-APC-11-26	
Subcommittee members:		
Prof. Steven Jordan (Faculty of Education) and Mr. Max Zidel		
5. International Education		
- Annual Report on Student Exchanges	12-APC-11-22	
6. Research Advisory Committee		
- Proposed Name Change for the Centre for Research on Language, Mind and Bra	in	
(CRLMB) to Centre for Research on Brain, Language and Music (CRBLM)	12-APC-11-27	
7. Draft APC Annual Report to Senate on Plans and Priorities	12-APC-11-28	
8. Other business		

REGRETS: please advise <u>Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca</u> or Teresa Dagostino (398-3109)

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2012-2013

Membership

Anthony C. Masi	Provost, Chair of the Committee
Morton J. Mendelson	Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), Vice Chair
	Chair of the Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)
	Chair of the Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (SCTL)
Martin Kreiswirth	Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral
	Studies, Chair of the Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)
Sarah Stroud	Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)
Judith Potter	Dean of Continuing Studies
C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain	Dean of Libraries or delegate
Cynthia Weston	Director, Teaching and Learning Services
Sally McDougall (2010)	Board of Governors
William Hendershot (2014)	Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
John Galbraith (2015)	Faculty of Arts
Laura Stone (2014)	Faculty of Dentistry
Kimiz Dalkir (2014)	School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education
Arun Misra (2014)	Faculty of Engineering
Wendy Adams (2014)	Faculty of Law
Paola Perez-Aleman (2013)	Desautels Faculty of Management
Craig Mandato (2014)	Faculty of Medicine
Steven Huebner (2015)	Schulich School of Music
Ian Henderson (2013)	Faculty of Religious Studies
Laurie Hendren (2014)	Faculty of Science
Haley Hatch-Dinel	Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU
Edward Chiang	Undergraduate student
Max Ziedel	Undergraduate student
Avik (Jim) Ghoshdastidar	Graduate student
Peter Tikasz	Student, Macdonald Campus
Eric Laverdiere	Continuing Studies Student
Helen M.C. Richard	Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

Meeting dates

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated September: 13 (cancelled) October: 4 and 25 November: 8 and 22 13 (Arts 160) December: January: 17 and 31 February: 14 March: 7 and 21 (James 301) April: 11 (Ferrier 456) May: 2 and 23 (Arts 160)

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2012-2013