Academic Policy Committee Thursday 15th May 2014 3:00 – 5:00 p.m.; Room 301 James Building

Agenda

1.	Approval	of agenda	Document
2.	Minutes of	f meeting of 28 th April 2014 (for approval)	on APC website
3.	New busin i. a.	 ess: APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs Report #11 on SCTP meeting of March 27, 2014 (<i>for approval</i>) Faculty of Engineering New degree program B.Eng; major in Bioengineering (141-151 cr.) 	14-APC-05-76
		Guests: Prof. Dan Nicolau, Dept of Bioengineering, Prof. Robert Kearney, Dept of Bio	medical Engineering
	Ь.	 Report #13 on SCTP meeting of 10th April, 2014 (for approval) Faculty of Arts B.A.; Major Concentration in Liberal Arts (36 cr.) B.A.; Honours in Liberal Arts (60 cr.) B.A.; Minor Concentration in World Islamic and Middle East Studies (18 cr.) B.A.; Major Concentration in World Islamic and Middle East Studies (36 cr.) B.A.; Honours in World Islamic and Middle East Studies (36 cr.) B.A.; Joint Honours - World Islamic and Middle East Studies Component (36 cr.) B.A.; Minor Concentration in Arabic Language (18 cr.) B.A.; Minor Concentration in Turkish Language (18 cr.) B.A.; Minor Concentration in Urdu Language (18 cr.) B.A.; Minor Concentration in Urdu Language (18 cr.) B.A.; Minor Concentration in Urdu Language (18 cr.) Ph.D. in Sociology (0 cr.) Ph.D. in Sociology (0 cr.) Ph.D. in Sociology; Gender and Women's Studies (0 cr.) Desautels Faculty of Management Ph.D. in Management; Environment (0 cr.) Faculty of Medicine M.Sc. in Experimental Surgery; Surgical Education (45 cr.) M.Sc. in Experimental Surgery; Surgical Innovation (45 cr.) M.Sc. in Computer Science (45 cr.) M.Sc. in Computer Science; Bioinformatics (45 cr.) 	14-APC-05-82 r.)
	ii.	M.Sc. in Computer Science; Computational Science and Engineering (45 cr.) APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (for discussion and approval)	
	п. а.	Institute for Gender, Sexuality and Feminist Studies	
	u.	 Review documents a. Self-Study b. Review Committee Report and External Report c. Institute Response d. Dean's Response Summary of Review and List of Recommendations Summarizer: Prof. Karin Bauer (Department of Languages, Literatures & Cultures) - 4 	14-APC-05-78 Appendix a Appendix b Appendix c Appendix d 14-APC-05-79 4 p.m.
	b.	Medical Physics Unit	

- Review documents

14-APC-05-80

	a.	Self-Study	Appendix a						
	b.	Review Committee Report and External Report	Appendix b						
	с.		Appendix c						
	d.	Dean's Response	Appendix d						
		immary of Review and List of Recommendations	14-APC-05-81						
		mmarizer: Prof. Johannes Walcher (Department of Mathematics & Stat							
			, 1						
iii.	Review	w of the operation of the Cyclical Unit Review Office (CURO)							
	- M	emo from CURO	14-APC-05-83						
		eview of the operation of CURO	14-APC-05-84						
	10		14 / 11 C 05 04						
Work plan	n for Al	PC 2014/2015 (for discussion)							
	_	p - 2014/2015 (for information)							
		r: Prof. Anthony C. Masi							
The Associ	iate Pro	vost (Policies, Procedures, and Equity), Vice Chair: Prof. Lydia W	Vhite						
The Deputy	y Provo	st (Student Life & Learning): Prof. Ollivier Dyens							
The Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations) or delegate: Prof. Sarah Stroud									
The Associ	The Associate Provost (Graduate Education) Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies: Prof. Martin Kreiswirth								
The Dean of Continuing Studies: Prof. Judith Potter									
The Dean of	of Libra	ries or delegate: Ms. Carole Urbain							
		ching and Learning Services: Prof. Laura Winer							
Board of Governors representative: Dr. Sally McDougall (2016)									
Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences: Prof. Marilyn Scott (2017)									
Faculty of Arts: Prof. John Galbraith (2015)									
•		ry: Prof. Belinda Nicolau (2017)							
-		on: Prof. Anila Asghar (2017)							
-		ering: Prof. Richard Chromik (2017)							
		of. Lara Khoury (2017)							
•		of Management: Prof. Emine Sarigöllü (2016)							
	-	ne: Prof. Terry Hébert (2017)							
		f Music: Prof. Steven Huebner (2015)							
		us Studies: Prof. Ian Henderson (2016)							
		: Prof. Tamara Western (2017)							
•		dent: Ms. Claire Stewart-Kanigan							
0		e							
U		dent: Mr. David Benrimoh							
		Mr. Xavier St-Denis							
		student: Ms. Regine F. Debrosse							
		d Campus: Ms. Stefanie Thibert							
Ų		tion Student: TBD							
Secretary to	o the Co	ommittee: Ms. Julie Degans							
Proposed of	dates fo	or APC – 2014/2015 (for information)							

Thursdays, 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. - room 302 of the James Administration Building (unless otherwise indicated) September 2014: 18 October 2014: 9 and 30 November 2014: 20 December 2014: 11 January 2015: 22 February 2015: 12 and 26 March 2015: 19 April 2015: 16 May 2015: 7

7. Other Business

6.

4.

5.

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2013-2014 - Membership

Provost, Chair of the Committee Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures, and Equity), Vice Chair Deputy Provost (Student Life & Learning)	Anthony C. Masi Lydia White
Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) and Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (STL) Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Grad. & Postdoct.	Ollivier Dyens
Studies, Chair, Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS) Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations),	Martin Kreiswirth
Chair, APC Subcommittee on Continuing Education	Sarah Stroud
Dean of Continuing Studies	Judith Potter
Dean of Libraries or delegate	C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain
Interim Director, Teaching and Learning Services	Laura Winer
Board of Governors	Sally McDougall (2016)
Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences	William Hendershot (2014)
Faculty of Arts	John Galbraith (2015)
Faculty of Dentistry	Laura Stone (2014)
School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education	Kimiz Dalkir (2014)
Faculty of Engineering	Arun Misra (2014)
Faculty of Law	Wendy Adams (2014)
Desautels Faculty of Management	Emine Sarigöllü (2016)
Faculty of Medicine	Craig Mandato (2014)
Schulich School of Music	Steven Huebner (2015)
Faculty of Religious Studies	Ian Henderson (2016)
Faculty of Science	Laurie Hendren (2014)
Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU	Joey Shea
Undergraduate student	Farzan Subhani
Undergraduate student	Alvin Kuate Defo
Graduate student	Boran Xu
Alternate graduate student	Alexander Deguise
Student, Macdonald Campus	Stephanie Somasundaram
Continuing Education Student	Darine Bader
Academic Program Officer (Secretary to the Committee)	Julie Degans

Meeting dates (2013-2014)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated September: 19 October: 3 and 31 November: 21 December: 12 January: 9 February: 6 and 20 (cancelled) March: 6 (cancelled) and 20 April: 3 and 17 15 (Room 301, James) May: