Honorary Degree Recipients

PAUL T. ANASTAS, Doctor of Science, is the Teresa and H. John Heinz III Chair in the Practice of Chemistry for the Environment, and the Director of the Center for Green Chemistry and Green Engineering at Yale University.

ZITA COBB, Doctor of Letters, is a pioneer in the field of social entrepreneurship and founder of the Shorefast Foundation, which is dedicated to creating cultural and economic resiliency for Fogo Island and Change Islands.

RUTH DEFRIES, Doctor of Science, is a renowned scholar and environmental geographer at Columbia University whose research focuses on issues of sustainability, science policy and the impact of the human race on the earth’s environment.

SANDRA DJWA, Doctor of Letters, is a writer, critic and cultural biographer who has played an integral role in Canada’s literary history. She taught Canadian literature at Simon Fraser University, including an appointment as the J.S. Woodsworth Resident Scholar in the Humanities.

CÉLINE GALIPEAU, BA’80, Doctor of Letters, was Radio-Canada’s first female news anchor and a role model for an entire generation of women aspiring to careers in journalism.

VINTON GRAY CERF, Doctor of Science, is an American computer scientist who is recognized as one of the fathers of the TCP/IP protocol suite, which represents the core functionality and architecture that defines the Internet.

MARIA LABRECQUE DUCHESNEAU, Doctor of Letters, is the founder of Au coeur des familles agricoles, a non-profit organization that works to meet the needs, both physical and psychological, of the agricultural community, while sensitizing the public to the agricultural environment.

THE RIGHT HONOURABLE BEVERLEY MCLACHLIN, Doctor of Laws, was the first female Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, the longest serving chief justice in the country’s history, and the author of some of the court’s most important and high-profile rulings.

SUSAN MCCLARY, Doctor of Music, is a leading feminist musicologist. Her research focuses on the cultural criticism of music in both the European canon and the contemporary popular genres.

HENRY PETROSKI, Doctor of Science, is an internationally recognized engineer, researcher, teacher, author and communicator. He has devoted his career to furthering mankind’s understanding of technology and the role of design in modern society.

LAWRENCE (LARRY) G. ROSSY, BA’65, Doctor of Laws, is an entrepreneur, philanthropist and CEO of Dollarama, Inc. Under his prescient leadership, his business empire has grown to include over 1000 retail stores across Canada.

DR. E. FULLER TORREY, MDCM’63, Doctor of Science, is a research psychiatrist who has distinguished himself through a lifelong commitment to improving mental illness research and mental health care. He was an early proponent of the biological basis of schizophrenia and bipolar disorders.

ANDREAS WIMMER, Doctor of Letters, is a professor of sociology and political philosophy at Columbia University. He has helped us more than any other recent scholar to understand state formation, nation building, ethnic conflict and war.

BERTRAND CESVET, BA’86, MBA’90, Doctor of Letters, is the chairman and senior partner of creative services firm Sid Lee. Under his leadership, the firm has grown from a small shop in Montreal to an international powerhouse known for its creativity and unique business model.

JOANNE LIU, MDCM’91, IMHL’14, Doctor of Science, is the International President of Doctors Without Borders. She has worked with Malian refugees in Mauritania, people affected by the earthquake in Haiti and the tsunami in Indonesia, and war-wounded patients in Syria.