honorary degree recipients

Download the PDF
Download the PDF »

Michael Meighen, BA’60, Doctor of Laws, distinguished lawyer, former Canadian senator and noted philanthropist who has served as co-chair of Campaign McGill, Past President of the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada, and co-counsel for the Deschênes Commission of Inquiry on War Criminals in Canada.

Daniel Lamarre, Doctor of Laws, one of Canada’s most influential businessmen, President and CEO of Cirque du Soleil and member of the Canadian Olympic Foundation Board of Directors.

Learn more about the Fall 2012 honorary degree recipients »

Watch the Fall 2012 honorary doctorate addresses »

Matthew S. MeselsonMatthew S. Meselson, Doctor of Science, geneticist and molecular biologist, advisor to the U.S. government and Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of the Natural Sciences at Harvard University, whose well-known Meselson-Stahl experiment showed how DNA replicates in cells.

Robert Deluce, BSc’71, Doctor of Science, commercial pilot, member of the White River Air Services founded by his father in the 1950s that provides transportation to remote communities in Northern Ontario and Quebec, and President and CEO of Porter Airlines, the third-largest scheduled airline in Canada.

Sally Katharine Drury McDougall, BSc’68, DipEd’69, Doctor of Letters, tireless volunteer, former McGill Alumni Association (MAA) president and 2007 winner of the MAA’s highest honour, the Award of Merit.

Blanche Lemco van Ginkel, B.Arch’45, Doctor of Science, visionary architect, educator and urban planner who played a key role in preserving Old Montreal during the 1960s, led the charge to protect the south slope of Mount Royal from urban developers and  who, with her late husband, helped design Montreal’s Expo 67.

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Doctor of Science, one of the world’s foremost virologists whose 1983 publication in Science identified HIV as the cause of AIDS; co-winner of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and continuing activist for universal access to HIV diagnosis, treatment and care.

Adam Gopnik, BA’80, Doctor of Letters, accomplished novelist and staff writer for The New Yorker whose writings have included a best-selling book of essays and whose reporting has brought him three National Magazine Awards, the George Polk Award for magazine reporting and the Canadian National Magazine Award Gold Medal.

Darren Entwistle, MBA’88, Doctor of Laws, President and CEO of TELUS who has led the company growth into a leader in national and global telecommunications; philanthropic and diversity initiatives at TELUS have been recognized by Corporate Knights, Maclean’s and with Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation award in 2010 – the first Canadian company to receive this award.

Judith Butler, Doctor of Letters, leading philosopher, theorist and public intellectual who has left a lasting mark on the fields of feminism, queer theory, political philosophy and ethics, especially through her best-known work, Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity.

Nana MouskouriNana Mouskouri, Doctor of Letters, best-selling female recording artist who has recorded more than 1,500 songs in eight languages as well as humanitarian and fervent child rights activist who has been a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador since 1993.

Claude Montmarquette, Doctor of Laws, president, CEO and vice-president of Public Policy at the Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) whose work has had a significant impact on the development of economic public policy at home and abroad; named a member of the Order of Canada in 2012.

Sally Engel Merry, Doctor of Laws, professor, author and leading legal anthropologist whose outstanding scholarship on law and society addresses some of the most complex contemporary issues in the implementation of international human-rights norms.

Calestous Juma, Doctor of Science, Professor of the Practice of International Development at Harvard University and internationally recognized authority in the application of biotechnology to advance agricultural development in Africa; former Executive Secretary  of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity and director of the Agricultural Innovation in Africa Project funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Learn more about the Spring 2013 honorary degree recipients »

Watch the Spring 2013 hononorary doctorate addresses »