Quick Links

Alan Blizzard Award

The Alan Blizzard Award was established to encourage, identify, and publicly recognize those whose exemplary collaboration in university teaching enhances student learning. learning. The Award honours Dr. Alan Blizzard, STLHE President from 1987 to 1995, and his convictions about the effectiveness of collaboration in team teaching for student learning. From the beginning in 2000, the Award has been sponsored by McGraw-Hill Ryerson. The Award seeks to make visible and disseminate scholarship of teaching and learning, based on values and practices of collaborative teaching.

University teaching is typically assumed to be a solitary, private, and individual activity. Collaboration can also be an effective strategy for accomplishing student learning. The Alan Blizzard Award highlights excellence in collaborative university teaching and learning.

There are many instances—ranging from sports, politics, and industry to the arts, professions, and civic life—in which collaboration offers effective, innovative, and satisfying ways of fostering engagement, solidarity, and meaning. We are encouraged to cultivate collaborative approaches to student learning, but we must also encourage and support collaborative teaching.

Collaboration in teaching can take place within disciplines or across departmental, administrative, and institutional boundaries. Teaching collaboration can occur at different levels—from introductory courses and capstone courses to degree programs and interdisciplinary courses. Collaboration in teaching can also range in size and scope from two persons team-teaching 50 students in a writing-intensive course to large interdisciplinary teams—faculty, administrators, and community members teaching 1,000 students through service learning and problem-solving needs proposed by the community. As the burgeoning literature on “communities of practice” indicates, collaborative team approaches to learning are common, but often unrecognized and unappreciated. The Alan Blizzard Award seeks to foster recognition, visibility, and appreciation for effective collaboration in university teaching and learning.

For additional information and nomination forms, click here.

The deadline for applications for the 2014 Alan Blizzard Award is Friday, March 14, 2014.

McGill's Award Winners

The 2002 Alan Blizzard Award for Collaborative Projects that Improve Student Learning was awarded to the team of Don Baker, Michel Lapointe, Martin J. Lechowicz, Jeanne Paquette, Wayne Pllanrd, Marcia Waterway and Terry Wheeler of McGill's School of Environment for their project: Developing Critical Thinking Skills in a Multidisciplinary Context: Meeting the challenges of collaborative teaching in the McGill School of Environment, McGill University.

The winning nomination papers submitted for all previous Alan Blizzard Award recipients can be found at: http://www.stlhe.ca/awards/alan-blizzard-award/previous-winners/.