Note: This is the 20122013 edition of the eCalendar. For the most recent publication, click here. For a newer version of this specific page, simply update the year in your browser's URL bar.

Competitive Moot Program

Competitive Moot Program

The Competitive Moot Program allows interested students to participate in a variety of mooting competitions under the supervision of Faculty members and practitioners. McGill teams regularly participate in the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot, the Tribunal-École Pierre-Basile Mignault, the Concours Charles Rousseau, the Harold Fox Moot (IP), the Gale Cup Moot, the Laskin Moot Court Competition, the Corporate Securities Moot Competition, the Wilson Moot, the Kawaskimhon Aboriginal Moot, the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot, and the Sopinka Cup. The Faculty has frequently won several of these competitions. In addition, every year, four students compete in the Bar Prize Moot with prizes awarded by the Bars of Montreal and Quebec.

The following funds which are administered by the Dean of the Faculty of Law, provide financial support to the competitive mooting teams representing McGill:

  • The John G. Ahern, Q.C. Memorial Mooting Fund was established by the law firm of Ahern, Nuss and Drymer in 1979, in the name and memory of its distinguished founder (B.C.L. 1918), Bâtonnier of the Bar of Montreal and Quebec in 1955–56, and renowned and respected advocate pleader throughout his long career.
  • The S. Leon Mendelsohn Mooting Fund was established by the partners of Mendelsohn in honour of their esteemed founder (B.C.L. 1924).
  • The Richard and Hilda Golick Mooting Sponsorship, established in 1994 and funded by the proceeds from the Law and You Seminars, also provides financial assistance to students participating in competitive mooting.
  • The McCarthy Tétrault Foundation donation to the Faculty in support of competitive mooting.
Faculty of Law—2012-2013 (last updated Aug. 9, 2012) (disclaimer)