

Memorandum

Office of the Provost

James Administration Building Room 504

Tel: 398-1225 | Fax: 398-4768

TO: Senate

FROM: Anthony C. Masi, Provost

SUBJECT: Appointment of Assessors under the *Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and*

Discrimination Prohibited by Law

DATE: 22 October 2008

DOCUMENT #: D08-13

ACTION ☐ INFORMATION ☐ DISCUSSION ☐ APPROVAL / DECISION

REQUIRED:

ISSUE: Senate approval of Assessors as required by the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law

BACKGROUND & RATIONALE:

I am pleased to bring forward recommendations of the new Assessors (for Senate approval) under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law. These colleagues join Professors Gray-Donald, Panangaden, and Paré, and Ms. Emani, Mr. Jackson, and Mr. Jarosiewicz, already serving.

Academic Staff

Robyn Tamblyn (Medicine) (2008-09)

Administrative & Support Staff

Patricia Tuck (Arts) (2008-10)

The Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law provides

- 4.1 The Provost shall consult with the university-level students' associations, staff associations and unions on the appointment of eight (8) Assessors from the University community. The appointment of the Assessors shall be approved by Senate. The Assessors shall report directly to the Provost.
- 4.2 The Assessors shall be employees or appointees of the University. Four (4) shall be chosen from the members of academic staff and four (4) from the members of administrative and support staff. At least one of the Assessors shall be from Macdonald Campus. The Provost shall endeavor to have a diverse group of Assessors with an equal representation of the sexes.

Consultations on the selection of Assessors have been undertaken in accordance with section 4.1, and guided by the requirements of section 4.2.

Please be informed that Ms. Lori Yersh (Development and Alumni Relations) who was already approved as an Alternate to take up her position as Assessor in 2008 will now only begin serving in 2009.

FOR APPROVAL:

MOTION OR RESOLUTION BE IT RESOLVED that Senate approves the appointment of the following persons as Assessors under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law for the terms indicated which terms shall commence immediately. The italicized names are for approval remaining names were previously approved by Senate.

Academic Staff

Katherine Gray-Donald (Agricultural & Environmental Sciences) (2007-09) Prakash Panangaden (Science) (2008-10) Anthony Paré (Education) (2008-10) Robyn Tamblyn (Medicine) (2008-09)

Administrative & Support Staff

Heidi Emami (Enrolment Services) (2007-09) Douglas Jackson (Information Systems Resources) (2007-09) Karl Jarosiewicz (Web Service Group) (2008-10) Patricia Tuck (Arts) (2008-10)

Alternates: (to begin serving as Assessors in 2009)

Administrative & Support Staff

Lori Yersh (Development and Alumni Relations)

PRIOR CONSULTATION:

As required by section 4.1 of the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law the following groups have been consulted prior to bringing these names to Senate: AGSEM, MAUT, MUNASA, MUNACA, MACES, MCSS, PGSS, SSMU and the seven trades and services unions.

NEXT STEPS:

If there are any unexpected vacancies prior to June 1 2009 an Alternate may come forward to active service immediately. This is in agreement with the procedure used in previous years.

APPENDICES:

N/A