Quick Links

2009

10 décembre 2009

Gerda de Vries (Département de sciences mathématiques et statistiques, Université d'Alberta)
Making Mathematics with Needle and Thread: Quilts as Mathematical Objects 
Téléchargez la baladodiffusion ici. Les rapports entre les textiles et les mathématiques sont étroits, mais peu explorés, peut-être parce que les textiles et les arts textiles ont traditionnellement été l'apanage des femmes, tandis que les mathématiques étaient censées être l'affaire des hommes. Les choses ont bien changé! On reconnaît aujourd'hui que les textiles et les mathématiques, comme les arts et les sciences, présentent des aspects entrecroisés et complémentaires. Dans cette communication, je m'intéresse aux rapports entre les textiles et les mathématiques comme les courtepointes traditionnelles et contemporaines en offrent une illustration. En un sens, une courtepointe est un objet mathématique, puisqu'elle a une forme et des dimensions. Mais certaines courtepointes sont plus mathématiques que d'autres, et elles le sont très différemment. Je compte démontrer que des concepts mathématiques comme la symétrie, les fractales et la conception algorithmique se retrouvent, par hasard ou à dessein, dans l'univers de la courtepointe.


12 novembre 2009


Andrew Hendry (Musée Redpath et Département de biologie, Université McGill) 
Humans, evolution, and the future of biodiversity
Les humains sont la plus grande force évolutive de la Terre. Nous devons cette distinction douteuse aux nombreuses façons dont nous perturbons l'environnement et modifions l'effet de la sélection sur les populations naturelles. Cette modification du processus de sélection a précipité des changements évolutifs dans les populations exposées aux changements climatiques, à la chasse aux gibiers trophées, à la pêche commerciale, aux espèces envahissantes et à la pollution. Dans certains cas, ces changements évolutifs peuvent revêtir de l'importance pour le maintien de populations victimes de la dégradation de leur environnement.

Les humains peuvent aussi modifier le processus même de diversification — nous pouvons accentuer la diversification en créant de nouvelles niches pour des espèces et nous pouvons renverser la diversification en brouillant les distinctions entre des niches existantes. Pour toutes ces raisons — et d'autres aussi — l'évolution est appelée à jouer un rôle critique dans ce que sera l'avenir de la biodiversité sur une Terre de plus en plus dominée par les humains.


8 octobre 2009

Karim Nader (Département de psychologie, Université McGill)
Can we erase memories for therapeutic benefits?
Téléchargez la baladodiffusion ici. Serait-il acceptable, si cela était possible, d'effacer des souvenirs pour rendre quelqu'un meilleur ou améliorer son état? De supprimer un traumatisme qui handicape le sujet depuis des décennies? Ou des souvenirs associés à une toxicomanie? S'il était possible d'effacer de tels souvenirs, ne faudrait-il pas le faire? Pourquoi conserver des souvenirs accablants?
Sur un ton ludique, mon exposé porte sur certains aspects de la science qui sont au coeur des recherches actuelles sur la mémoire. Certaines données suggèrent en effet qu'il puisse être possible d'effacer fonctionnellement des souvenirs. Ces données ont été extrapolées en une fiction dans le film Du Soleil plein la tête (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind), que je vous suggère de visionner.


10 septembre 2009
Christopher Barrett (Centre de recherche sur la physique des matériaux et Département de chimie, Université McGill)
Mother Nature as a Green Materials Engineer, and what Scientists can learn from her about Self-Assembly
Téléchargez la baladodiffusion ici. Plus les scientifiques et les ingénieurs oeuvrent à la fine pointe du développement des matériaux, plus il sont impressionnés par la Nature et les solutions prodigieuses qu'elle a mises au point après des millions d'années d'évolution. La soie des toiles d'araignée, les coquillages et les os constituent toujours, à l'ère de l'exploration spatiale et des nanotechnologies, l'avant-garde en matière de composites à résistance élevée. Des fonctions comme la vision ou la biocompatibilité sont d'une complexité tout aussi impressionnante et difficile à comprendre, et encore plus à copier et améliorer. Cette conférence décrit les nouveaux principes qui régissent à McGill le développement de matériaux aujourd'hui fondé sur le biomimétisme et l'autoassemblage, qui sont à la fois notre inspiration et notre boîte à outils. La chimie, la physique et le génie actuels ont certes beaucoup à apprendre de l'histoire et de la biologie.


16 avril 2009

Leonard Smith (Centre for the Analysis of Time Series, London School of Economics and Political Science)
Seeing Through Our Models: Coping with an Inconvenient Ignorance in a Changing Climate


12 mars 2009

Rocky Kolb (Département d'astronomie et d'astrophysique, Université de Chicago)
Mysteries of the Dark Universe
Quatre-vingt-quinze pour cent de la matière manque dans l'Univers! Les observations astronomiques suggèrent que la majeure partie de la masse de l'Univers revêt une forme mystérieuse appelée « matière noire » et que la plupart de l'énergie que contient l'Univers revêt une forme encore plus mystérieuse appelée « énergie sombre ». La matière noire lie les galaxies, tandis que l'énergie sombre les éloigne les unes des autres dans une expansion cosmique. Percer les secrets de la matière noire et de l'énergie sombre révélera la nature de l'espace et du temps et reliera le quantum au cosmos.


8 janvier 2009

Andrew D. Miall (Département de géologie, Université de Toronto)
Energy and climate change: Six popular myths that complicate the development of good public policies
Téléchargez la baladodiffusion ici. Le changement climatique et l'énergie sont des questions complexes et certains éléments importants sont souvent simplifiés pour les besoins d'un argument. Cette simplification facilite certes la compréhension de questions scientifiques ou économiques complexes par le public, mais elle est parfois aussi source d'inexactitudes. Cette conférence expose six idées fausses à propos du changement climatique.

Quick Links

2009

December 10th, 2009

Freaky Friday: Quilting  

 Dr. Gerda de Vries (Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta)

 

Making Mathematics with Needle and Thread: Quilts as Mathematical Objects
The connection between textiles and mathematics is intimate but not often explored, possibly because textiles and fiber arts have traditionally been the domain of women while mathematics was viewed as a male endeavour. How times have changed! Today, textiles and mathematics, like art and science, are recognized for their interwoven, complimentary attributes. In this presentation, I will examine the connection between textiles and mathematics, in the context of both traditional and contemporary quilts. In a sense, every quilt is a mathematical object, by virtue of the fact that it has shape and dimension. But some quilts are more mathematical than others, and in very different ways. I will show how mathematical concepts such as symmetry, fractals, and algorithmic design show up in the world of quilting through serendipitous and intentional design. Download podcast.


November 12th, 2009

Dr. Andrew Hendry
Andrew Hendry (Redpath Museum and Department of Biology, McGill University)
Humans, evolution, and the future of biodiversity

Humans are the world’s greatest evolutionary force. We have achieved this dubious distinction through the many ways in which we perturb the environment, thereby altering how selection acts on natural populations. These changes in selection have precipitated evolutionary changes in populations experiencing climate change, trophy hunting, commercial fishing, invasive species, and pollution. In some cases, these evolutionary changes may be important to the persistence of populations facing environmental degradation.

Humans can also alter the process of evolutionary diversification itself – we can enhance diversification by creating new niches for species and we can reverse diversification by blurring the distinction between existing niches. For all of these reasons – and more – evolution will be critical in shaping the future of biodiversity in this increasingly human-dominated world.


October 8th, 2009

Karim Nader
Karim Nader (Psychology, McGill University)

Can we erase memories for therapeutic benefits?
If we could functionally erase a memory to make someone better would that be acceptable? What if the memory was of a trauma that has incapacitated someone for decades? Maybe the memories are of drug addiction? If we could erase these memories shouldn’t we? Why do we need memories if they keep us down?

In a very playful manner, my talk will address some of the science that is at he heart of memory research today. The science suggests that memories can be functionally erased. This science was taken and expanded to the point of fiction in the film Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (suggested viewing for the audience). Download podcast.


September 10th, 2009
Christopher Barrett (Centre for the Physics of Materials and Dept. Chemistry, McGill University)
Mother Nature as a Green Materials Engineer, and what Scientists can learn from her about Self-Assembly

The more time that Scientists and Engineers spend working at the cutting edge of Advanced Materials development, the more impressed many of us become with Mother Nature, and the fantastic solutions she has already provided through millions of years of evolution. Materials like spider silk, sea shell, and bone still represent the current forefront of nano-technology and space-age high-strength composites. Processes like vision and bio-compatibility are equally impressively complex and challenging to understand fully, let alone to copy or improve upon. This talk will describe an emerging new guiding principle for Materials Development at McGill, based on Bio-Mimicry and Self-Assembly as an inspiration and a toolbox. Indeed, there is much that current Chemistry, Physics, and Engineering can learn from History and Biology.
Download podcast here.


April 16th, 2009

Leonard Smith
Dr. Leonard Smith (Centre for the Analysis of Time Series, London School of Economics and Political Science)
Seeing Through Our Models: Coping with an Inconvenient Ignorance in a Changing Climate


March 12th, 2009

Rocky Kolb
Dr. Rocky Kolb
Mysteries of the Dark Universe

Nine-five percent of the universe is missing! Astronomical observations suggest that most of the mass of the universe is in a mysterious form called dark matter and most of the energy in the universe is in an even more mysterious form called dark energy. Dark matter binds together our galaxy and dark energy drives galaxies apart in the cosmic expansion. Unlocking the secrets of dark matter and dark energy will illuminate the nature of space and time and connect the quantum with the cosmos.


January 8th, 2009

Andrew Miall

Dr. Andrew D. Miall (Department of Geology, University of Toronto)
Energy and climate change: Six popular myths that complicate the development of good public policies
Climate change and energy issues are complex, and key points are commonly simplified in order for a speaker or commentator to make a point they regard as important. While this may help with public understanding of complex scientific or economic issues, it can result in distortion or misrepresentation, particularly where an individual has an axe to grind or a political point to make. This lecture will elaborate and clarify the six popular myths abut climate change. Download podcast.