Museum Faculty and Staff

Redpath Museum staff and students, September 2015.



  • Larsson, Hans, Associate Professor. Curator of Paleontology. BSc (McGill), PhD (University of Chicago)


Administrative office

  • caroline [dot] leblond [at] mcgill [dot] ca (LeBlond, Caroline), Administrative Assistant
  • sarah [dot] pimpaneau [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Pimpaneau, Sara), Office Coordinator

 Academic staff

  • Barrett, Rowan, Assistant Professor BSc (University of Guelph), MSc (McGill Univesrity), PhD (University of British Columbia)
  • Carroll, Robert L., Professor Emeritus. Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology. BSc (Michigan State Univ.), PhD (Harvard), FRSC, FLS, Strathcona Professor of Zoology
  • heather [dot] gray [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Gray, Heather,) Lecturer, BSc (McGill), MSc (Univ of Calgary), PhD (McGill)
  • Green, David, Professor, Curator of Vertebrates. BSc (Univ. of British Columbia), MSc, PhD (Univ. of Guelph)
  • Hendry, Andrew, Professor, Curator of Fish. BSc (Univ. of Victoria), MSc, PhD (Univ. of Washington)
  • Larsson, Hans, Associate Professor, Curator of Paleontology. BSc (McGill), PhD (University of Chicago)
  • Millien, Virginie, Associate Professor and Curator of Natural History Collections - Redpath Museum, Director - Gault Nature Reserve, DEA, PhD  (Univ. Montpellier II, Ecole Normale Superieure Paris) sabbatical leave
  • Ricciardi, Anthony, Professor, Curator of Invertebrates, MSc, PhD (McGill)

Curatorial staff

  • Lawson, Barbara, Curator of World Cultures (Ethnology). BA (Northwestern  University), MA (McGill)
  • Kaylor, Joan, (temporarily reassigned) Mineralogy Technician. BSc (McGill)
  • chantal [dot] montreuil [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Montreuil, Chantal), Paleontology Technician
  • anthony [dot] howell2 [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Howell, Anthony), Zoology Technician

Science outreach and public program

  • Ingrid Birker, Adminstrator, BSc (York), MSc (Leicester), MA (McGill) 
  • jacqueline [dot] farrell [at] mcgill [dot] ca (Farrell, Jacky), Environmental Educator and Canadian Wildlife Federation rep, BSc (McGill), MSc (Dalhousie), Dip.Ed. (McGill). 

Tomlinson Project in University Level Science Education (T-PULSE)

  • Harpp, David N., Director, Tomlinson Chair in Science Education and Macdonald Professor. AB (Middlebury), MA (Wesleyan), PhD (Univ. of North Carolina)
  • Covens, Faygie, Administrative Coordinator

Associate members

  • Bell, Graham A.C., Professor. MA (Oxon), DPhil (Oxon), FRSC, FLS, James McGill Professor
  • Paquette, Jeanne, Mineralogy. BSc, MSc (McGill), PhD (SUNY Stony Brook)
  • Chapman, Colin (MSE)
  • Chapman, Lauren

Adjunct members

  • Holmes, R., Vertebrate Paleontology
  • Woloch, M., Coins

Honorary curators

  • Levine, A., Conchology
  • Tarassoff, P., BEng (McGill), ScD (MIT), Mineralogy
  • Lourie, S., B.A. (Oxon), PhD (McGill), Seahorses

Redpath Museum Committees (2015– 2016)

Safety Committee: Marie La Ricca  – Interim chair. Ingrid Birker, Marie La Ricca, Anthony Ricciardi (on Sabbatical)   Graduate student (to be named)

Minor, Awards & Curriculum Committee: Rowan Barrett – Chair. All Academic personnel

Space Committee: Anthony Howell – Chair.  Anthony Howell, Marie La Ricca, David Green

Exhibits Committee: Ingrid Birker – Chair. Sara Pimpaneau, Anthony Howell, Barbara Lawson, Hans Larsson

Collections Committee: Barbara Lawson – Chair. Anthony Howell, Hans Larsson, Virginie Millien, Jeanne Paquette, Sara Pimpaneau

Publications Committee: Jeanne Paquette  – Chair. Ingrid  Birker, Anthony Howell

Disaster Planning Committee: Barbara Lawson – Chair. Ingrid Birker, Anthony Howell, Marie La Ricca, Anthony Ricciardi, Director of the Museum

Promotion & Tenure Committee: Director of the Museum – Chair. All tenured Academic personnel

All committees, except the Promotion & Tenure committee, are constituted for three-year terms. Graduate student will sit on all comittees except  Tenure committees.