Quick Links

Graduate Student News

Placement news


Seven department doctoral students or recent alumni/ae have accepted tenure-track appointments beginning 2012-13: Aisha Ahmad at the University of Toronto, Ece Atikcan at the University of Laval, Stefanie von Hlatky at Queen's University, Sarah-Myriam Martin-Brûlé at Bishop's University, Marc-André Bodet at the University of Laval, Melanee Thomas at the University of Calgary, and Jessica Trisko at the University of Western Ontario.  


Ora Szekely was hired to a tenure-track appointment at Clark University.

Suranjan Weeraratne was hired to a tenure-track appointment at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.

Sohini Guha was hired to a tenure-track appointment at Delhi University.


James Devine was hired to a tenure-track appointment at Mount Allison University.

Allison Harrell was hired to a tenure-track appointment at l'Université de Québec à Montréal.

Jason Roy and Christopher Anderson were both hired to tenure-track appointments at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Aviad Rubin has been hired to a tenure-track appointment at the University of Haifa.

Fellowships and awards

In the 2010 fellowship competition from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, doctoral students Benjamin Ferland and Martin McCallum were awarded three-year Canada Graduate Scholarships, and doctoral student Erin Crandall was awarded a two-year Doctoral Fellowship.

Meanwhile, in the 2010 FQRSC competition, doctoral students Andrea Lawlor and Mark Daku were awarded three-year Doctoral Fellowships.

Françoise Montambeault has been awarded the 2009-10 Outstanding Dissertation Prize from the Canadian Association of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Her dissertation, entitled "Models of (un}changing state-society relationships: urban participatory governance and the deepening of democracy in Mexico and Brazil," also received an Honorable Mention in the 2010 International Society for Third-Sector Research (ISTR) Emerging Scholar Dissertation Award competition.

The Horowitz Foundation has awarded doctoral student Aisha S. Ahmad a grant in support of research for her dissertation "Holy Warlords: The Rise of Islamist Movements in Afghanistan and Somalia," and has further recognized her research with the Harold D. Lasswell Award.

Doctoral student Blake Andrew has won the award for best graduate student paper in the Political Communications section at the 2009 Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association. His paper was "Making Broadcast News Headlines: Heuristic Signals in Campaign Coverage."

The Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire en Philosophie Politique has named Political Science doctoral students Marek Brzezinski, Chris Brzovic, Ryan Griffiths, Douglas Hanes, Martin MacCallum, and Nina Valiquetteto its graduate fellowship for 2010-11.

In 2008 and 2009 the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) awarded graduate fellowships to doctoral students Aisha Ahmad, Theo McLaughlin, Jessica Trisko, and Senwung Luk and MA students Anna Laurence, Francois-Xavier Plasse-Couture, and Derek Volker.

The Fonds de recherche sur la société et la culture (FQRSC) of Québec has awarded graduate fellowships to doctoral students Benjamin Ferland and Virginie Lasnier.

Doctoral student Mark Mattner was awarded a Trudeau Scholarship for 2008-11.

McGill’s Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship has named Political Science doctoral students Marc-Andre Bodet, Benjamin Ferland, Andrea Lawlor, Valerie-Anne Maheo, and Melanee Thomas, and master’s students Sheena Bell and Cameron Stark to its graduate fellowship for 2009-10.

The Institute for Health and Social Policy has named Mark Daku a doctoral fellow.

Theodore McLauchlin was awarded a Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplement from SSHRC.

Doctoral students Adam Chalmers and Mark Mattner have been awarded German Academic Exchange Foundation (DAAD) Doctoral Scholarships.


Selected recent and forthcoming publications from current and recent graduate students in the department:

Omar Ashour, The Deradicalization of Jihadists: Transforming Armed Islamist Movements. New York, London: Routledge, 2009.

Elisabeth Gidengil, Janine Marshall, and Melanee Thomas. 2008. “The Complexity Conundrum: The Gender Gap in Self-perceived Understanding of Politics in Canada and the United States.” Politics & Gender 4(4): 535-561.

Allison Harell. (2009). Equal Participation but Separate Paths?: Women's Social Capital and Turnout. Journal of Women, Politics and Policy 30(1):1-22.

Lori Hausegger, Matthew Hennigar, Troy Riddell and Emmanuelle Richez, ''Exploring the Links between Party and Appointment: Canadian Federal Judicial Appointments from 1989 to 2003.'' Forthcoming, Canadian Journal of Political Science

Mark Mattner, "Development actors and protracted refugee situations: Progress, challenges, opportunities," in: Protracted Refugee Situations: Political, Human Rights and Security Implications, edited by Gil Loescher, James Milner, Edward Newman and Gary Troeller, New York: UN University Press, 2009

Mark Mattner, "Oil Exploration in Chad: The World Bank and Revenue Redistribution in a Failed State," in Global Justice: Theoretical and Empirical Perspectives, edited by Ayelet Banai, Miriam Ronzoni and Christian Schemmel, London: Routledge, 2009

Theodore McLauchlin, "Loyalty Strategies and Military Defection in Rebellion." Forthcoming, Comparative Politics.

Jason Roy. 2009. “Voter Heterogeneity: Informational Differences and Voting”. Canadian Journal of Political Science. 42:117-137.

Stuart N. Soroka, Marc André Bodet, and Blake Andrews. “Campaign News and Vote Intentions,” forthcoming, Journal of Elections, Public Opinion and Parties.