Quick Links


2013 Magnesium Research Award

The Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthact honours Dr. In-Ho Jung with its Magnesium Research Award for 2013.  Dr. Jung has carried out pioneering work in the development of FactSage thermodynamic data base and kinetic models (solidifcation and diffusion) for magnesium alloys.

Congratulations to Assistant Professor, Marta Cerruti

Dr. Cerruti is the winner of the Jacques de Champlain award presented from the Heart and Stroke Foundation to the researcher who achieves a high rating in the attribution process of the research grants. 

Summer Undergraduate Research Program 2013 -

Prize Winner

Congratulations to Richard Church, Materials Engineering Undergraduate!

TISED Category: Sustainable mineral extraction, processing and advanced manufacturing
Thermodynamic Optimization of the Cr-B Binary System

Supervisor: In-Ho Jung



Catalyst Award for Student Collaboration on Sustainability with the Administration

Samra Lakew - U3

Samra co-founded and was the driving force behind McGill’s Team Montreal for the Solar Decathlon Competition, a competition involving 20 intercollegiate teams individually designing and building a fully functional, net-zero energy solar house to offer sustainable solutions for the housing market.


Professor Roussos Dimitrakopoulos

For a world class mining engineer and scientist, who has successfully demonstrated that stochastic mine-planning techniques substantially increase the value of a mineral deposit.  Read more...

2013 Adolf Martens Memorial Steel Lecturer

Emeritus Professor - John J. Jonas

This award was established in 2010 to honor Adolf Martens, a pioneer in establishing structure-property relationships in steel and one of the first researchers to utilize optical microscopy to observe that hard steels had different features than soft steels at the microscale. The Adolf Martens Lecture recognizes the achievement of significant, broadly known technical accomplishments that have enabled important advances in processing and product application in the field of ferrous physical metallurgy, and have either provided dramatic contributions to the field or made a lifetime of important contributions to the field.

Classified as