Research At McGill

Aerospace is a key strategic area at McGill, with more than 40 faculty members conducting research over a broad range of areas. Projects are funded by major government grants and international aerospace companies. Key areas include:

Aero-acoustics  (Prof Luc Mongeau)     

Aerodynamics and Fluid Mechanics  (Profs Evgeny Timofeev, Rabi Baliga, Luca Cortelezzi, Tim Lee, Siva Nadarajah, Laurent Mydlarski)

• Aero-icing  (Prof Fred Habashi)

• Aerospace Coatings and Tribology  (Prof Richard Chromik)

• Aerospace Materials and Alloy Development  (Profs Stephen Yue, Mathieu Brochu, and In-ho Jung)

Aircraft Dynamics and Control  (Prof Meyer Nahon)

• Automation and Manufacturing  (Prof Yaoyao Fiona Zhao)

• Avionics (Profs Haibo Zeng, Frank Ferrie, Benoit Boulet)

Combustion  (Prof Jeff Bergthorson)

Composite Materials  (Profs Pascal Hubert and Larry Lessard)

• Diagnostics, Prognostics, and Health Monitoring  (Prof Srikar Vengallatore)

• Environmental: Fuels and Icing  (Profs Fred Habashi, Jeff Bergthorson, and Marianne Hatzopoulou)

• International Space Law  (Prof Ram Jakhu)

• Light Metals Research  (Profs Stephen Yue, Mathieu Brochu, In-ho Jung, and Mihriban Pekguleryuz)

• MDO: Multidisciplinary, Optimization, Simulation  (Prof Michael Kokkolaras)

• Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS)  (Profs Srikar Vengallatore and Mourad El-Gamal)

Multiscale Materials Modeling  (Prof Jun Song)

Nanomaterials  (Prof Mathieu Brochu)

• Product Lifecycle Management  (Prof  Yaoyao Fiona Zhao)

• Space Robotics   (Profs Jorge Angeles, Jozsef Kovecses, Inna Sharf, Peter Radziszewski)
  Space Systems   (Profs Arun Misra, Andrew Higgins, James Forbes)