Quick Links

Board of Directors

The members of the MIAE Board of Directors are leaders drawn from academia and industry. The Board is chaired by the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, and consists of representatives of the aerospace industry, McGill professors working in the field of aerospace engineering, and the President of the MIAE student executive.The Board is tasked with strategic planning, overseeing the activities and financial operations of the institute, reviewing the previous year’s activities, and developing an action plan for the year ahead.


Chair, Professor James Nicell

Dean, Faculty of Engineering


Chair's Delegate, Professor Benoit Boulet

Associate Dean, Research and Innovation

Faculty of Engineering

Vice-Chair, Professor Rose Goldstein

Vice-Principal, Research and International Relations

Director, MIAE

Professor Stephen Yue

Chair, Department of Mining and Materials Engineering

Lorne Trottier Chair in Aerospace Engineering

Assistant Director, MIAE

Professor Pascal Hubert

Department of Mechanical Engineering


Academic Representative



Industrial Advisor, MIAE

Dr. Jean Colpin


Student President, MIAE

Alexandra Valdescault

Department of Mechanical Engineering

 Dr. André Bazergui, CRIAQ

Special Advisor to the President and CEO

Fassi Kafyeke, Bombardier Aerospace

Director Strategic Technology

Senior Engineering Advisor




Walter di Bartolomeo, Pratt and Whitney Canada

Vice-President Engineering

Marc-Andre Talbot, Thales Canada

Vice-President of Aerospace Engineering

Carl Carson, Rolls-Royce Canada

Chief Engineer, Research and Technology Advanced Projects