Quick Links

Departmental Awards, Prizes, and Fellowships

The Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences is proud to be able to offer the following awards, prizes, and fellowships to its students in recognition of their strong academic records.

Nomination Process

Nominations for all of the Department's awards, prizes, and fellowships are made by the Department's Fellowships Committee and, where appropriate, the Graduate Admissions Committee. Nominations are made to the Department's Awards Committee who make a final determination on which candidate will receive the award, prize, or fellowship.

J. S. Marshall Prize

The Marshall prize was established in 1995 by alumni contributions to the Department, in memory of Professor J. Stewart Marshall. The Marshall Prize is awarded annually or at the discretion of the Department, to the student graduating from the undergraduate program who holds the most outstanding academic record. The award is valued at $300.

Stephen and Anastasia Mysak Graduate Fellowship

The Stephen and Anastasia Mysak Graduate Fellowship was established in 2006 by Professor Lawrence A. Mysak in honour of his father, Stephen Mysak (1906-2007), and in memory of his mother, Anastasia Mysak (1907-1978). The Mysak Fellowship will be awarded on the basis of academic excellence to students pursuing research in one or more fields of air-sea interaction, oceanography or climate. The value of the fellowship is $15,000 per year, renewable once at the Master’s level, and twice at the Doctoral level.


To make a donation to one of the awards, prizes, or fellowships in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, please see Opportunities to give