Quick Links

Musées

Pavillon Rutherford (physique)

Nommé en l'honneur d'Ernest Rutherford, l'un des plus célèbres radiophysiciens de McGill, ce pavillon a été construit en 1977. Des précautions particulières ont été prises pour en faire un bâtiment aussi stable et insensible aux vibrations que possible. Des bureaux et de vaste salles de conférence occupent le rez-de-chaussée. C'est également dans ce pavillon qu'est logé le musée qui porte le nom de Rutherford.

Départements: 
Département de physique
Services: 
Musée Rutherford
Campus: 
Campus du centre-ville
Adresse: 
3600, rue University Montréal Québec Canada
Code postal: 
H3A 2T8
Longitude: 
-73.5785
Latitude: 
45.507
Building Code: 
000189

Musée McCord

Inauguré en 1921, le musée est nommé en l'honneur du collectionneur David Ross McCord, qui a légué sa vaste collection d'artéfacts canadiens pour que soit créé un musée d'histoire nationale à Montréal. D'abord logé dans une vieille maison du campus, cet établissement montréalais occupe depuis 1971 l'ancien immeuble de l'Association des étudiants de McGill, où d'importantes rénovations ont été effectuées en 1991.

Services: 
McCord Café, Musée McCord
Campus: 
Campus du centre-ville
Adresse: 
690, rue Sherbrooke Ouest Montréal Québec Canada
Code postal: 
H3A 1E9
Longitude: 
-73.5736
Latitude: 
45.5044
Building Code: 
000186

Arboretum Morgan

L'Arboretum Morgan est un laboratoire vivant de 245 hectares, où les étudiants sont conviés à prendre part à des programmes d'enseignement, de recherche et de conservation. C'est aussi un milieu récréatif naturel pour ses 3000 membres.

Services: 
Arboretum Morgan
Campus: 
Campus Macdonald
Adresse: 
21 111, chemin Lakeshore St Anne de Bellevue Quebec Canada
Code postal: 
H9X 3V9
Building Code: 
000831
Classified as

Musée Redpath

Achevé en 1882, ce bel exemple de style néoclassique est le plus ancien immeuble conçu à des fins muséales du Canada. Il abrite actuellement de vastes collections de paléontologie, de zoologie, de minéralogie et d'ethnologie (cultures du monde) accessibles au public. Il possède plusieurs laboratoires de recherche et un amphithéâtre d'enseignement se style victorien.

Services: 
Musée Redpath
Campus: 
Campus du centre-ville
Adresse: 
859, rue Sherbrooke Ouest Montréal Québec Canada
Code postal: 
H3A 0C4
Longitude: 
-73.5775
Latitude: 
45.5044
Building Code: 
000179
Classified as

Centre du centenaire

Construit en 1968, le Centre du centenaire, siège de nombreux organismes étudiants, services et installations, héberge notamment l'Association des étudiants du Campus Macdonald, le Service de santé et des laboratoires d'alimentation et de nutrition modernes. On y trouve également le Musée d'entomologie Lymann, dont les quelque 2,8 millions de spécimens constituent est la plus vaste collection universitaire d'insectes du Canada.

Services: 
Association des étudiants du Campus Macdonald, Ceileidh, Musée d'entomologie Lyman, Librairie, Services aux étudiants du Campus Macdonald
Campus: 
Campus Macdonald
Adresse: 
21 111, chemin Lakeshore St Anne de Bellevue Quebec Canada
Code postal: 
H9X 3V9
Longitude: 
-73.9389
Latitude: 
45.4059
Building Code: 
000411

Quick Links

Museums

Rutherford Physics Building

The namesake of Ernest Rutherford, one of McGill's most famous radiation physicists, special precautions were taken when it was built in 1977 to make it as stable and tremor-resistant as possible, The ground floor contains offices and large lecture rooms, and the building is home to a museum that also bears Mr. Rutherford's name.

Departments: 
Department of Physics
Services: 
Rutherford Museum
Campus: 
Downtown Campus
Address: 
3600 rue University Montreal Quebec Canada
Postal Code: 
H3A 2T8
Longitude: 
-73.5785
Latitude: 
45.507
Building Code: 
000189

Molson Nature Reserve

Donated to McGill as a nature conservation centre for use in study and research, the reserve is located not far from the Macdonald Campus. The 51-hectare parcel of land consists of forest, woodland marshes, swamps and wetland, and provides a habitat for wildlife and plant species, some of which are unique to the area.

Services: 
Molson Nature Reserve
Campus: 
Off Campus Properties
Address: 
Building Code: 
000857
Classified as

McCord Museum

Inaugurated in 1921, the museum is named after renowned Montreal collector David Ross McCord, who bequeathed his extensive collection Canadian artifacts to open a national history museum in Montreal. Although once housed in an old mansion on campus, this Montreal institution at has inhabited its current location, the former Students' Union building, since 1971 with major renovations taking place in 1991.

Services: 
McCord Café, McCord Museum
Campus: 
Downtown Campus
Address: 
690 rue Sherbrooke Ouest Montreal Quebec Canada
Postal Code: 
H3A 1E9
Longitude: 
-73.5736
Latitude: 
45.5044
Building Code: 
000186
Classified as

Tadja Hall

Originally know as Throstle Lodge, this house on the shores of Lac St Louis was built by George Dowker in the mid 1880's. In 1975, it was acquired by the Macdonald Stewart Foundation and named after Dr. David Stewart's favourite cat, Tadja. It now houses the MacDonald Campus Faculty Club.

Services: 
Tadja Hall
Campus: 
Macdonald Campus
Address: 
21082 Lakeshore Road St Anne de Bellevue Quebec Canada
Postal Code: 
H9X 3V9
Longitude: 
-73.9374
Latitude: 
45.4044
Building Code: 
000510
Classified as

Morgan Arboretum

The 245-hectare Morgan Arboretum is a living laboratory that allows students and researchers to participate in a variety of teaching, research and conservation programs. It also provides a natural environment for recreation for its 3000 members.

Services: 
Morgan Arboretum
Campus: 
Macdonald Campus
Address: 
21111 Lakeshore Road St Anne de Bellevue Quebec Canada
Postal Code: 
H9X 3V9
Building Code: 
000831
Classified as

Redpath Museum

Completed in 1882, this example of Classical Revival style is the oldest building in Canada built as a museum. It houses extensive collections in the fields of paleontology, zoology, mineralogy, and world cultures (ethnology), which are open to the public. It has several research labs and a Victorian teaching auditorium.

Services: 
Redpath Museum
Campus: 
Downtown Campus
Address: 
859 rue Sherbrooke Ouest Montreal Quebec Canada
Postal Code: 
H3A 0C4
Longitude: 
-73.5775
Latitude: 
45.5044
Building Code: 
000179
Classified as

Centennial Centre

Built in 1968, the Centennial Centre is occupied by a wide variety of student organizations, services and facilities, including the MacDonald Campus Students' Society, Student Health Services, and modern Food and Nutrition labs. It also houses the Lyman Entomological Museum, whose insect collection consists of over 2.8 million specimens, making it the largest university insect collection in the country.

Services: 
Bookstore, Ceileidh, Lyman Entomological Museum, Macdonald Campus Students' Society, Macdonald Student Services
Campus: 
Macdonald Campus
Address: 
21111 Lakeshore Road St Anne de Bellevue Quebec Canada
Postal Code: 
H9X 3V9
Longitude: 
-73.9389
Latitude: 
45.4059
Building Code: 
000411