Quick Links

The Two Weeks that Changed Canadian Copyright… And What Comes Next

Événement

16 Sep 2013 16:30
à
18:00
Pavillon Chancellor-Day : Maxwell Cohen Moot Court (NCDH 100), 3644, rue Peel Montréal Québec Canada , H3A 1W9
Price: Gratuit pour le grand public. 40 $ pour les membres du Barreau (1,5 heures de formation continue obligatoire pour juristes)

Le Centre des politiques en propriété intellectuelle accueille le professeur Michael Geist, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit d'Internet et du commerce électronique à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Résumé

En général, les affaires de droits d'auteur ne se rendent en Cour suprême qu’à l’occasion, ce qui fait que chaque cas est soigneusement étudié et analysé. Le 12 juillet 2012, la Cour a rendu des jugements sur cinq cas de droit d'auteur séparés en une seule journée, un nombre sans précédent qui a ébranlé les fondements mêmes du droit d'auteur au Canada. En fait, avec ces décisions qui ont été rendues quelques semaines à peine après que le gouvernement fédéral ait adopté une législation très attendue sur la réforme du droit d'auteur, le droit d'auteur du Canada a connu un changement radical qui prendra des années à clarifier.

Cette conférence examinera la décennie de réformes et de contentieux des droits d'auteur qui ont conduit à ces deux semaines qui ont transformé le droit d’auteur au Canada.

Le conférencier

Michael Geist est professeur de droit à l'Université d'Ottawa où il est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit d'Internet et du commerce électronique. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit (LLB) de la Osgoode Hall Law School à Toronto, des maîtrises en droit (LLM) de Cambridge au Royaume-Uni et de Columbia à New York, et un doctorat en droit (JSD) de Columbia.

Le professeur Geist s’intéresse aux questions de droit de la technologie et publie une chronique dans le Toronto Star et le Ottawa Citizen. Il est le rédacteur en chef de From "Radical Extremism" to "Balanced Copyright": Canadian Copyright and the Digital Agenda (2010) et In the Public Interest:  The Future of Canadian Copyright Law (2005), tous deux publiés par Irwin Law, et il est rédacteur en chef de plusieurs publications mensuelles en droit de la technologie. Il blogue sur les questions de droit de la propriété intellectuelle à  www.michaelgeist.ca et on peut le suivre sur Twitter à @mgeist‎.

À propos de la conférence

Cette activité est accréditée pour 1,5 heures de formation continue obligatoire par le Barreau du Québec (activité no. 10074724)

La conférence est gratuite et ouverte au grand public; toutefois, les avocats désirant se prévaloir des 1,5 heures de formation continue sont priés de s’inscrire à l’entrée et de payer des frais de 40$ (en argent comptant ou par chèque).

Prière de confirmer votre présence à la conférence : david [dot] groves [at] mail [dot] mcgill [dot] ca

Coordonnées

Contact: DAVID GROVES
Organisation: Prière de confirmer votre participation à la conférence
Courriel:
Site de source: /law
Classification: 

Follow us on:

Quick Links

The Two Weeks that Changed Canadian Copyright… And What Comes Next

Event

16Sep201316:30
to
18:00
Chancellor Day Hall Maxwell Cohen Moot Court (NCDH 100), 3644 rue Peel, Montreal, QC, H3A 1W9, CA
Price: 
Free for the general public. $40 for Quebec Bar members (1.5 hours of continuing legal education)

The Centre for Intellectual Property Policy welcomes Professor Michael Geist, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-Commerce Law at the University of Ottawa.

Abstract

Copyright cases typically only reach the Supreme Court of Canada once every few years, ensuring that each case is carefully parsed and analyzed. On July 12, 2012, the Court issued rulings on five copyright cases in a single day, an unprecedented tally that shook the very foundations of copyright law in Canada. In fact, with the decisions coming just weeks after the Canadian government passed long-awaited copyright reform legislation, Canadian copyright law experienced a seismic shift that will take years to sort out.

This talk will examine the decade-long process of copyright reform and litigation that led to the two weeks that changed copyright for the foreseeable future.

About the speaker

Michael Geist is a law professor at the University of Ottawa where he holds the Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law. He has obtained a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) degree from Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto, Master of Laws (LL.M.) degrees from Cambridge University in the UK and Columbia Law School in New York, and a Doctorate in Law (J.S.D.) from Columbia Law School. 

Prof. Geist is an internationally syndicated columnist on technology law issues with his regular column appearing in the Toronto Star and the Ottawa Citizen.  He is the editor of From "Radical Extremism" to "Balanced Copyright": Canadian Copyright and the Digital Agenda (2010) and In the Public Interest:  The Future of Canadian Copyright Law (2005), both published by Irwin Law, the editor of several monthly technology law publications. He blogs on Internet and intellectual property law issues at www.michaelgeist.ca and can also be followed on twitter at @mgeist‎.

About the conference

The event is accredited for 1.5 hours of continuing legal education (CLE) by the Quebec Bar (activity no. 10074724).

The talk is free and open to the public, but lawyers who wish to receive their CLE credits are asked sign up at the entrance and pay a $40 fee. Payment is cash or by cheque. We regret that we cannot accept credit cards.

Kindly RSVP regarding the conference: david [dot] groves [at] mail [dot] mcgill [dot] ca

Contact Information

Contact: 
DAVID GROVES
Organization: 
Kindly confirm your presence at the conference
Email: 
david [dot] groves [at] mail [dot] mcgill [dot] ca