Quick Links

Ateliers Annie MacDonald Langstaff, et Conférences commémoratives Margot E. Halpenny & Patricia Allen

Ateliers Annie MacDonald Langstaff

Annie MacDonald Langstaff

Créés en 1988 en l'honneur d'Annie MacDonald Langstaff, B.C.L. 1914, première femme à obtenir un diplôme en droit au Québec, ces ateliers servent de forum aux universitaires, juges, avocats et personnes travaillant au sein de la communauté pour présenter le fruit de leurs recherches universitaires ou pour donner un aperçu de leur pratique sur des sujets relatifs aux femmes et au droit.

Deux conférences désignées annuelles, la Conférence commémorative Margot E. Halpenny et la Conférence commémorative Patricia Allen sont organisées comme part du cycle des ateliers AML, en plus des trois ou quatre ateliers qui sont données chaque année.

Certains ateliers passés

(Toutes nos excuses: les billets décrivant les événements ici bas ont en bonne partie été perdus ou effacés quand le système de calendrier web de McGill a été migré sur une nouvelle plateforme)

Conférence commémorative Margot E. Halpenny

Margot Halpenny, BA'72, LLB'76, était membre du Barreau de l'Ontario. Elle a passé les dix dernières années de sa carrière comme conseillère juridique pour Noranda. Après son décès, plusieurs dons ont été effectués en son nom par ses amis. Sa famille a décidé que ces dons seraient remis à la Faculté de droit de McGill, étant donné les études de Madame Halpenny études à McGill, ainsi que l'attachement de sa famille à l'Université. La Conférence commémorative Margot E. Halpenny honore sa mémoire.

Certaines conférences passées

  • 20 novembre 2013: Carissima Mathen - Are Women Bad for Multiculturalism?
  • 14 octobre 2008: The Politics of Rape: Jane Doe Speak at McGill
  • 23 novembre 2007: Fiona Sampson - A perfect storm of inequality - Women's equality rights in 2007
  • 14 mars 2006: David Lepofsky - Achieving equality for persons with disabilities - What works?

Conférence commémorative Patricia Allen

Patricia Allen

Créée en 1992 par la promotion de 1988 à la mémoire de Patricia Allen, une diplômée de la Faculté qui fut tragiquement assassinée, la Conférence commémorative Patricia Allen est consacrée à la sensibilisation et à l'éducation de la communauté juridique et de la population aux problèmes sociaux et juridiques urgents, particulièrement la violence faite aux femmes.

Certaines conférences passées

Quick Links

Annie MacDonald Langstaff Workshops, with Margot E. Halpenny & Patricia Allen Memorial Lectures

Annie MacDonald Langstaff workshops

Annie MacDonald Langstaff

Inaugurated in 1988 in honour of Annie MacDonald Langstaff, BCL 1914, the first woman to earn a law degree in Quebec, the workshops provide a forum for academics, judges, lawyers, and community activists to present scholarly research and practical insights on issues relating to women and the law.

Two named lectures, the Margot E. Halpenny Memorial Lecture and the Patricia Allen Memorial Lecture are given each year as part of the series, in addition to three or four additional presentations.

Some past workshops

(Our apologies: most of our event links below were broken or lost when the web calendar system at McGill was moved to a new platform)

Margot E. Halpenny Memorial Lecture

Margot Halpenny, BA'72, LLB'76, became a member of the Ontario Bar and spent the last ten years of her career working for Noranda as legal counsel. After her passing, donations poured in from friends in her honour. Her family felt that these donations would be properly directed to the McGill Law Faculty, given Margot’s educational background and the family’s overall strong affiliations with McGill. The Margot E. Halpenny Memorial Lecture honours her memory.

Some past lectures

  • 20 November 2013: Carissima Mathen - Are Women Bad for Multiculturalism?
  • 14 October 2008: The Politics of Rape: Jane Doe Speaks at McGill
  • 23 November 2007: Fiona Sampson - A perfect storm of inequality - Women's equality rights in 2007
  • 14 March 2006: David Lepofsky - Achieving equality for persons with disabilities - What works?

Patricia Allen Memorial Lecture

Created in 1992 by the Class of 88 in memory of Patricia Allen, a graduate of the Faculty who was tragically and senselessly murdered, this annual lectureship is devoted to sensitizing and educating the legal community and others about pressing social and legal issues, particularly that of violence against women.

Some past lectures