Catherine Walsh

Professeure titulaire

Pavillon Chancellor-Day
3644, rue Peel
Salle 39
Montréal, Québec
Canada H3A 1W9

514-398-5509 [Bureau]
catherine.walsh [at] mcgill.ca (Courriel)


Biographie

La professeure Walsh enseigne et poursuit ses recherches en droit des sûretés et en droit international privé. Ancienne membre du corps professoral de la Faculté de droit de l’Université du Nouveau Brunswick, sa venue à McGill en juillet 2001 reflète son intérêt marqué pour les dimensions comparatives et internationales de ces sujets.

Catherine Walsh est impliquée depuis longtemps dans la réforme du droit et elle a activement participé dans un certain nombre d'initiatives de réforme nationales et internationales, y compris en tant que membre de la délégation canadienne au Groupe de travail VI de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI) dans le développement d'une série d'instruments juridiques multilatéraux en droit des opérations garanties.

Elle est l'auteure de Personal Property Security Law (Irwin Law, 1re éd. 2005, 2e éd. 2012), ouvrage co-rédigé avec Ronald Cuming (Saskatchewan) et Roderick Wood (Alberta). Elle contribue comme co-auteure dès les débuts à Private International Law in Common Law Canada: Cases, Text and Materials, et dont une 4e édition sera publiée chez Emond-Montgomery en 2016.

Avant d'entreprendre des études de droit, Catherine Walsh a travaillé comme bénévole pour l'organisation CUSO au Ghana, expérience qui a nourri son intérêt pour le droit comparé et le droit international privé.

Études

B.C.L. (Oxford) 1979

LL.B. (UNB) 1978

B.A. (Dalhousie) 1972

Parcours professionnel

Professeure titulaire, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 2001-

Vice-doyenne à l'enseignement, Faculté de droit, Université McGill, 2003-2005

Professeure titulaire, Faculté de droit, Université du Nouveau Brunswick, 1994-2001 (prof. agrégée, 1986-1994 ; prof. adj. 1981-1986)

Avocate, Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales, 1999-2002

Associée, McKelvey Macaulay Machum (à présent Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales), Saint John, 1980-81

Stagiaire auprès du juge en chef, Cour d’appel du Nouveau Brunswick, 1979-1980

Champs d'intérêt

Droit des sûretés; droit international privé; droit des affaires internationales.

Catherine Walsh

Full Professor

Chancellor Day Hall
Room 39
Montreal, Quebec
Canada H3A 1W9

514-398-5509 [Office]
catherine.walsh [at] mcgill.ca (Email)

Catherine Walsh


Biography

Catherine Walsh teaches and writes principally in the areas of secured transactions and private international law. Formerly a professor in the Faculty of Law of the University of New Brunswick, her move to McGill in July 2001 reflects her strong interest in the comparative and international dimensions of these subjects.

She has a long standing commitment to law reform, and has been actively involved in a number of national and international reform initiatives, including participating as a member of the Canadian delegation to Working Group VI of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) in the development of a series of multilateral legal instruments in secured transactions law.

She is the co-author, with Ronald Cuming (Saskatchewan) and Roderick Wood (Alberta), of Personal Property Security Law (Irwin Law, 1st ed. 2005, 2nd ed. 2012). She has been a contributing co-author from the outset of Private International Law in Common Law Canada: Cases, Text and Materials, the 4th edition of which was published by Emond-Montgomery in 2016.

Before commencing her law studies, Catherine Walsh worked as a CUSO volunteer in Ghana, an experience that contributed to her subsequent interest in comparative and international private law.

Education

B.C.L. (Oxford) 1979

LL.B. (UNB) 1978

B.A. (Dalhousie) 1972

Employment

Full Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University, 2001-

Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Law, McGill University, 2003-2005

Professor, Faculty of Law, University of New Brunswick, 1994-2001 (Assoc. Prof 1986-1994; Assist. Prof. 1981-1986)

Counsel, Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales, 1999-2002

Associate Lawyer, McKelvey Macaulay Machum (now Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales), Saint John, 1980-1981

Law Clerk to the Chief Justice, New Brunswick Court of Appeal, 1979-1980

Areas of Interest

Secured Transactions Law, Private International Law, International Business Law