Politique d'admission

Ce que nous recherchons

La politique d'admission de la Faculté a pour objectif de retenir les candidats les plus aptes à étudier le droit dans l’environnement bilingue, comparatif et transsystémique unique à McGill. L’excellence et la diversité sont essentielles à la Faculté. En effet, nous estimons que l’excellence de notre Faculté prend sa source dans sa diversité.

Le Comité des admissions cherche des indicateurs tels que la curiosité intellectuelle, l’engagement communautaire, l’éveil (culturel, économique, politique, social et autre), la capacité de leadership, l’aptitude à travailler avec les autres, l’ouverture face à la diversité, la maturité, le sens éthique, le jugement, et la faculté d’adaptation aux conditions tant positives que négatives. 

Les candidats sont retenus par le Comité des admission sur la base d'une évaluation globale du dossier d’admission, en tenant compte du dossier scolaire, des habiletés linguistiques, de la lettre de présentation personnelle, de l'engagement parascolaire, communautaire ou professionnel, ainsi que des lettres de recommandation de chaque candidat (voir Documents justificatifs).

Les étudiants doivent être en mesure de comprendre, à l'écrit et à l'oral, tant le français que l'anglais (voir Langues).

Le Comité des admissions vise la constitution d'un groupe pluriel provenant du Québec, du Canada et d'ailleurs, et représentant un éventail d'aspirations de carrière, d'origines et d'expériences personnelles.

Équité et diversité

La Faculté de droit souscrit à l’équité et la diversité.  Elle accueille les demandes d’admission de personnes autochtones, de personnes handicapées, de personnes racialisées, de personnes de toutes orientations et identités sexuelles, de personnes transsexuelles et/ou transgenres, des femmes, des personnes issues de milieux économiquement défavorisés, et de toute personne qui peut être confrontée à des obstacles systémiques qui influencent l’accès à l’éducation.

La Faculté invite ses candidats à s’auto-identifier et à partager de l’information contextuelle à cet égard dans leur demande (par exemple dans la lettre de présentation personnelle et/ou sous les « circonstances atténuantes »), laquelle sera revue par le Comité d’admission et utilisée en cohérence avec la Charte des droits et libertés du Québec. Par ailleurs, la Faculté encourage ses candidats à remplir le sondage qui suit la demande d’admission. Celui-ci est anonyme et utilisé aux seules fins de statistiques et de développement stratégique de recrutement.

Horaire des cours

Tous les cours offerts par la Faculté de droit sont donnés du lundi au vendredi durant le jour. Bien que quelques cours puissent se terminer plus tard, la majorité de nos cours sont enseignés dans la période comprise entre 8h00 et 19h00. La Faculté n’offre pas de cours du soir, de cours par correspondance ou à distance, ou par internet.

Nos étudiants assistent en personne au cours dans les salles de classe de la Faculté. Nous nous attendons à ce que nos étudiants participent pleinement à la vie de la Faculté et à celle de la communauté. 

Un programme contingenté

Le programme de droit à McGill est contingenté et l'admission est donc compétitive. Chaque année, la Faculté accueille 180 nouveaux étudiants. L'expérience des dernières années démontre que le nombre de demandes d'admission est sept fois supérieur au nombre de places disponibles.

Les candidats sont retenus par notre Comité des admissions qui se compose cette année de huit membres à temps plein du corps professoral nommés par le doyen, de deux étudiants finissants en droit choisis par le Comité exécutif de l'Association des étudiant(e)s en droit, et de la doyenne adjointe, Admissions et recrutement. Chaque demande est évaluée par au moins un membre du Comité des admissions. La majorité des demandes sont évaluées par deux ou trois membres avant qu'une décision finale soit rendue par la doyenne adjointe, Admissions et recrutement.

Honnêteté et intégrité de la part des candidats et candidates

L’Université McGill et la Faculté de droit tiennent à l’honnêteté et l’intégrité et s’attendent à ce que les candidats et les candidates se conduisent en conséquence. Le dépôt d’informations fausses, incomplètes, inconsistantes ou trompeuses, ou toute omission qui peut mener à une conclusion fausse ou erronée, représente une inconduite dans le dossier de candidature. Des exemples d’inconduite incluent une lettre de présentation personnelle rédigée par une personne autre que le candidat ou la candidate; ou l’omission de révéler l’existence d’un score LSAT.

La découverte d’une inconduite dans un dossier de candidature pourrait mener – et a déjà mené par le passé – à un refus, ou, si une offre d’admission a été faite, du retrait de cette offre à la discrétion exclusive de l’Université. L’intention n’est pas prise en considération dans la constatation d’une inconduite dans un dossier de candidature.

À titre d’institution membre du Law School Admissions Council (LSAC), la Faculté de droit de McGill se réserve le droit de signaler toute inconduite au Misconduct and Irregularities in the Admissions Process Subcommittee du LSAC pour que cet organisme puisse faire enquête.

Admissions policy

What we look for

The Faculty’s admissions policy is to select applicants who are best suited to studying law in McGill’s uniquely comparative, transsystemic, and bilingual environment. Diversity and excellence are essential to our Faculty. Indeed, our Faculty’s excellence is based on its diversity.

The Admissions Committee looks for indicators of intellectual curiosity, community engagement, insight (cultural, economic, political, social and otherwise), leadership skills, ability to work with others, openness to diversity, maturity, ethical sense, judgment, and potential for development through opportunity or adversity, among other criteria.

The Committee conducts its assessment through a holistic evaluation of each applicant's file, including the applicant's academic record, linguistic abilities, personal statement, extracurricular, community or professional activities, and letters of reference (see Supporting documents).

In addition, applicants must demonstrate substantial reading ability in, and aural comprehension of, both English and French (see Language requirements).

The Admissions Committee seeks to achieve a pluralistic learning community drawn from across Quebec, Canada and beyond, in which there is a wide range of career aspirations, backgrounds and life experiences.

Equity and Diversity

The Faculty of Law is committed to equity and diversity.  We welcome applications from Indigenous people, people with disabilities, racialized people, gender non-conforming and trans people, LGBQ people, women, people from an economically disadvantaged background, and others who may face systemic barriers that impact their access to education.

We invite applicants to share self-identifying and contextualizing information in the admission application (e.g. in personal statement and/or under extenuating circumstances), which will be reviewed by the Admissions Committee and used in a manner consistent with the Quebec Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Further, we strongly encourage all applicants to fill out the post-application survey, which is anonymous and used solely for statistics and the development of recruitment efforts.

Part-time studies

A candidate may seek permission to pursue studies on a part-time basis, either before admission (from the Admissions Committee which will consult the Associate Dean, Academic) or while studying in the Faculty (from the Associate Dean, Academic). The Faculty may grant permission for the duration of studies or for a limited period, provided that the student can demonstrate that full-time study is not possible for any of the following reasons:

  • Pregnancy
  • Health problems, physical disabilities
  • Responsibility for the primary care of others
  • Serious financial hardship
  • Other exceptional circumstances

Applicants seeking admission to study on a part-time basis must submit a separate letter giving the reasons why they want to study part-time. The Faculty evaluates applications for part-time study on the same basis as those for full-time study.

Students granted permission to register on a part-time basis must register for a minimum of nine credits per term, and complete all the requirements of the B.C.L./LL.B. program within seven academic years.

Candidates seeking admission on a part-time basis must fulfill all the standard entrance requirements of the Faculty of Law.

Course Schedule

All courses offered by the Faculty of Law are given Monday to Friday during the day. Although some courses may finish later, the majority of our courses are taught between 8:00 and 19:00. The Faculty does not offer evening classes, correspondence or distance courses, or internet courses.

Students attend classes at the Faculty of Law in person, and are expected to be fully active in the Faculty and in the community.

Limited enrolment

The B.C.L./LL.B. is a limited enrolment program for which admission is competitive. Each year the Faculty admits approximately 180 new students. Statistics show that the number of applications is approximately seven times greater than the number of available places.

Successful applicants are chosen by the Faculty's Admissions Committee, which is composed this year of eight full-time faculty members appointed by the Dean, two senior law students selected by the Law Students' Association Executive, and the Assistant Dean, Admissions and Recruitment. Each application is reviewed by at least one member of the Admissions Committee, and the majority of applications are reviewed by two or three members before a final decision is rendered by the Assistant Dean, Admissions and Recruitment.

Honesty and Integrity in the Application Process

McGill University and the Faculty of Law value honesty and integrity. Applicants to the Faculty of Law are expected to conduct themselves accordingly. The submission of false, incomplete, inconsistent or misleading information, or any omission that may result in a false or misleading conclusion, constitutes misconduct in the admission process. Instances of such misconduct include, as examples: the submission of a personal statement that was not written by the applicant, and failure to disclose an LSAT score.

A finding of misconduct in the application process may lead – and has led in the past – to a refusal or, if an offer of admission has already been extended, a withdrawal of the offer at the sole discretion of the University. Intent is not an element of a finding of misconduct.

As a member school of the Law School Admissions Council (LSAC), McGill’s Faculty of Law reserves the right to report any misconduct to the LSAC’s Misconduct and Irregularities in the Admissions Process Subcommittee for its investigation.