Quick Links

Students

IT Security Alert: Phishing Scam - "Login Error Detected"

Thu, 2014-08-07 15:50

A phishing attempt is circulating with the subject line: "Login Error Detected". Two samples of the email are shown below.

Category:
Source Site: /it

Software Licensing site maintenance - August 12

Tue, 2014-08-12 07:00 - 09:00

McGill's Software Licensing site will undergo a scheduled maintenance operation on Tuesday, August 12, between 7 - 9am. The system will be unavailable during this period. 

The Software Licensing site is part of McGill's campus software program, providing easy access to centrally licensed software used in teaching, research and administration at the University.

Source Site: /it

Microsoft Office 365 coming in August for all McGill students

Thu, 2014-07-31 16:38

If you’re a McGill student, in August you’ll have free access to download and use Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus on your PC, Mac, or iPad.  

The Office 365 ProPlus subscription license for students includes:

Category:
Source Site: /it

File storage maintenance - Tues. Aug. 5, 2014 from 9pm to midnight - interruptions to several services

Tue, 2014-08-05 21:00 - Wed, 2014-08-06 00:00

Maintenance will be done on the Enterprise Storage Area Network (SAN) on Tuesday, August 5 from 9pm to midnight.

The following McGill services will be unavailable for approximately 15 to 30 minutes any time during this maintenance period:

  • All Staff and Student home folders (R: & P: drives)
  • All departmental file shares on the central file servers
  • Evault Archives and Indexing

Before the maintenance: Save and close all files on your departmental server before 9 pm Tuesday, Aug. 5.

Source Site: /it
Classified as: 

Bcooltv Streaming Service maintenance Wed. July 30 between 7:00 & 8:00am

Wed, 2014-07-30 07:00 - 08:00

Due to maintenance on the Bcooltv streaming service on Wednesday, July 30, 2014, Live-Event Capture and Broadcast AV Streaming will be unavailable from 7 to 8 am. Lecture recordings will be unavailable for 30 minutes during this downtime.

Source Site: /it

IT Security Alert: VoiceMail Phishing Scam - Several attempts are circulating with an attached .zip file

Thu, 2014-07-24 12:16

Several phishing attempts are circulating from different senders with different file attachment names. A sample email has the subject line: "You have received a new VoiceMail". Find a sample of this email below.

Please delete any suspcious email immediately! They do NOT come from a McGill source.

It is a fraudulent attempt to gain access to your personal information. McGill never solicits any such information by email.

Category:
Source Site: /it

Students working at McGill may experience temporary changes to Office 2013 between July 24-28

Thu, 2014-07-24 09:00 - Mon, 2014-07-28 06:00

Due to maintenance of our Microsoft Office Server infrastructure, Student users of Office 2013 on McGill computers will experience some temporary changes to the look and feel of Office 2013.  These changes will be taking place over several days, starting Thursday, July 24, 2014 and ending early on Monday, July 28, 2014.

During the maintenance period:

Source Site: /it
Classified as: 

RISQ Maintenance in Gault Nature Reserve affects wired connectivity

Fri, 2014-08-08 23:00 - Sat, 2014-08-09 04:00

Due to RISQ maintenance, there will be no wired network connectivity in the Gault Nature Reserve from Friday, August 8, at 11:00 pm until 4:00 am Saturday August 9. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Source Site: /it

Electrical outage in Laird Hall (Macdonald Campus)

Wed, 2014-07-23 06:00 - 10:00

Due to preventive maintenance, there will be no electricity in Laird Hall on Macdonald campus on Wednesday, July 23 from 6 to 10am.

While emergency power will still be available, power will not be available for other services (such as wireless) or for computers.

If you work in the building, you are advised to shut down your computer before leaving on Tuesday, July 22.

Source Site: /it

Electrical outage in Raymond Building (Macdonald Campus)

Tue, 2014-07-22 06:00 - 10:00

Due to preventive maintenance, there will be no electricity in Raymond Building on Macdonald campus on Tuesday, July 22 from 6 to 10am

While emergency power will still be available, power will not be available for other services (such as wireless) or for computers. 

If you work in the building, you are advised to shut down your computer before leaving on Monday, July 21.

Source Site: /it