Quick Links

Histoire de l'Institut de droit comparé

Fondé en 1966, l'Institut de droit comparé reflète un engagement à l'étude et à la recherche en droit comparé à McGill qui trouve ses origines au milieu du dix-neuvième siècle, lors de l'établissement de la Faculté.

Comparatiste depuis le début: la Faculté de droit de McGill au XIXe siècle

Le premier programme de droit fut offert par ce qui était alors McGill College en 1848, à la Faculté des arts; les documents provenant du curriculum original suggèrent qu'il était  « polyjural », au sens où il présentait aux étudiants une variété de traditions légales. C'est Charles Dewey Day, Directeur de McGill College (1853-1855), lui-même avocat et éventuellement juge, qui supervisa la fondation d'une Faculté de droit indépendante cinq ans plus tard, en 1853. Day, qui devint par la suite Chancelier de l'Université (1864-85), avait reconnu Montréal comme un lieu de rencontre de multiples traditions légales. Profitant de cette convergence unique, il voulut établir un programme d'études dans lequel les futurs leaders seraient éduqués dans la richesse et la diversité des systèmes juridiques, au lieu d'apprendre purement  « la loi en vigueur localement »; ainsi, les Institutes de Justinien, la Coutume de Paris (le droit civil en application au Québec jusqu'en 1866), et les Commentaries de Blackstone formaient ensemble la base du programme B.C.L. En même temps, la recherche faite par les professeurs et les étudiants constituait un élément important de la Faculté de droit.

Au tournant du dix-neuvième siècle, l'orientation comparatiste de la Faculté fut renforcée par la nomination au poste de doyen de Frederick Parker Walton (1897-1914). Romaniste éduqué à Oxford plutôt qu'avocat praticien comme tous les doyens précédents, Walton mit l'accent sur l'importance de l'histoire du droit et du droit comparé (alors une discipline émergente) et notamment sur l'importance du droit romain comme autant d'outils pour la formation des professionnels du droit. Si le premier mandat de la Faculté sous Walton était de former des avocats praticiens, son attachement à la science du droit comme moyen de développement professionnel renforcit la réputation intellectuelle de la Faculté ainsi que sa position au sein de la communauté de l’Université. Dans sa propre recherche en droit comparé, le doyen Walton fut l'un des premiers à examiner les  « juridictions mixtes » qui combinent les traditions de droit civil et de common law, incluant l'Écosse (où il est né) et le Québec. Au cours de ses années à McGill, il se consacra aussi au développement d'une méthodologie pour l'étude et l'interprétation du Code civil du Bas-Canada (1866) en s'inspirant des principes du nouveau code civil allemand (Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch, 1900).


« A Place of World Resort»: la mission comparatiste de McGill au XXe siècle 

Le doyen suivant, Robert Warden Lee (1915-21), perpétua la tradition de droit comparé à McGill. Avant son arrivée à McGill, le doyen Lee avait enseigné le droit à Oxford et à l'University College de Londres, où il occupait la chaire de droit romano-hollandais. Au même moment, il pratiquait non seulement la common law, mais aussi le droit civil dans des causes en appel au Conseil privé qui provenaient du Ceylan, où il avait développé un intérêt pour le droit romano-hollandais en travaillant dans la fonction publique. Alors qu'il était doyen à McGill, Lee approfondit la recherche de Walton sur les juridictions mixtes, écrivit un manuel de droit romano-hollandais et publia sur des enjeux de droit comparé à travers l'Empire britannique. Comme Walton avant lui, le doyen Lee était aussi romaniste, et sa compréhension de l'importance d'étudier le droit romain, matière qu'il enseignait à McGill, saisit l'essence de la pensée comparatiste à laquelle la Faculté adhère toujours aujourd'hui: 

 

A law student must learn the laws of his country. Granted. But he must approach them with a mind free and unrestrained, not with that of a slave. He must know how to rise above them, to see them in a proper perspective, to take the larger view, to form a rational and critical estimate of their strength and weakness. Now there is no better, perhaps no other, method of fostering the right habit of mind than the comparative study of more than one system. (Lee, infra, à la p.136)

Académiquement, le doyen Lee voulait rendre à la Faculté ses racines, c'est-à-dire, former une population étudiante variée au delà de ceux se destinant à la pratique du droit; selon lui, McGill devait devenir « the scene of a great school of law in which the science of law will be studied in its comparative and international aspects. Such a school of law would be a place of world resort and world-wide influence and renown » (Robert Warden Lee, «  The Law Faculty of McGill University: its past, present and future », memorandum non-daté, MUA, RG2, Cont 64, File 1172, cité dans Hobbins, infra, aux pp.189-90). À cette fin, il réintroduisit l'étude de la common law dans le programme B.C.L., à titre de complément à l'étude du droit civil qui avait été l'essentiel du curriculum depuis l'adoption du Code civil du Bas-Canada un demi-siècle plus tôt. De plus, pour la première fois dans l'histoire de McGill, Lee instaura un diplôme de maîtrise en droit, soulignant la vocation de la Faculté d'entrainer de futurs chercheurs universitaires. (Pour plus information sur R. W. Lee, voyez cette courte biographie.)

La recherche devint un élément particulièrement important de la Faculté de droit sous la direction du doyen suivant, Percy Corbett (1928-36). Romaniste, comme Walton

et Lee, le doyen Corbett obtint un fond spécial pour publier la recherche faite à la Faculté, créa de nouvelles bourses pour les études supérieures et l'écriture juridique, et institua une thèse obligatoire pour le diplôme de premier cycle.

Vers 1950, le droit comparé était devenu une discipline à part entière partout dans le monde, incluant à McGill. De nouveaux comparatistes furent nommés à la Faculté et celle-ci offrit ses premiers séminaires officiels de droit comparé, l'un d'eux enseigné par le Professeur Louis Beaudouin, qui allait plus tard publier une étude novatrice sur le droit comparé au Québec, Le droit civil du Québec: modèle vivant de droit comparé. La même décennie vit une montée fulgurante dans la productivité et la renommée de la recherche à la Faculté, autant en droit comparé qu'en d'autres disciplines traditionnelles. En 1960, Maxwell Cohen (doyen par intérim, et plus tard doyen, 1964-69) identifia le droit comparé comme première discipline de recherche parmi celles où excellait particulièrement la Faculté.

Un nouveau foyer pour la recherche et les études supérieures en droit comparé: la naissance de l'Institut de droit comparé


Six ans plus tard en 1966, grâce au soutient d'un investissement majeur de la Fondation Ford dans le financement de la recherche, le doyen Cohen dirigea la création d'un nouvel institut d'études supérieures: l'Institut de droit étranger et comparé, qui allait par la suite devenir l'Institut de droit comparé (IDC). Avec J.J. Gow – alors titulaire de la chaire Gale en droit romain – son premier directeur, l'Institut devait réaffirmer la position de McGill à l'avant garde de l'éducation légale en servant de conduit pour les nouveaux développements en recherche légale. Très tôt après sa fondation, l'Institut introduisit nombre de cours ouverts autant aux étudiants de premier cycle qu'à ceux des cycles supérieurs. La mission d'enseignement de l'Institut, et les professeurs qu'il sût attirer, fut la raison pour laquelle l'option LL.B. fut de nouveau offerte pour la première fois depuis que Robert Warden Lee avait été doyen. En 1968, le Professeur H.R. Hahlo succéda au Professeur Gow à la direction de l'IDC; il réorienta l'Institut vers la recherche et les études supérieures. L'Institut était alors devenu le locus de toutes les études supérieures en droit à McGill, en dehors du droit aérien et spatial (l'Institut de droit aérien et spatial ayant été fondé en 1951).

En 1975, Paul-André Crépeau accéda à la direction de l'IDC. La Faculté et l'IDC particulièrement furent revigorés, ses chercheurs en droit civil pouvant se remettre à la recherche après de longues années dédiées au projet de révision du Code civil. Le droit privé comparé et le droit commercial international devinrent d'importantes spécialités de recherche pour l'IDC, et un programme de droit commercial international fut introduit sous l'auspice de l'Institut en 1977. Vers la fin des années 1970, l'IDC accueillait approximativement 20 nouveaux étudiants des cycles supérieurs chaque année, dont plusieurs de l'extérieur du Canada. De nouvelles concentrations en droit de la santé et en droit international des droits de l'homme furent instaurées au cours de la décennie suivante.

Dans les années 1980, la méthodologie comparatiste, devenue centrale à la recherche et aux études supérieures à la Faculté, commença à s'affirmer dans le programme de premier cycle, contribuant ainsi à l'unité du profil de la Faculté de droit. Ce développement coïncida avec une nouvelle cible de l'IDC: formuler une théorie distincte du droit comparé qui pourrait directement informer le programme de premier cycle unique de la Faculté; le projet fut mené par H. Patrick Glenn, le président actuel de la Société américaine de droit comparé (American Society of Comparative Law), qui devint directeur de l'Institut en 1989.                                                                                  

Recherche et contacts à l'international: l'IDC au XXIe siècle 

Tout en jouant un rôle proéminent dans la construction de l'identité et l'avancement de la Faculté de droit ainsi que de ses programmes, l'IDC s'implique dans le développement du droit et de la pensée juridique à l'extérieur de la Faculté. L'Institut est le foyer d'une large variété de projets de recherche entrepris en partenariat avec d'autres organisations juridiques, et a un historique de collaboration avec des organismes internationaux qui s'intéressent à des enjeux d'arbitrage et de droit international privé. L'IDC est aussi sollicité par des agences gouvernementales (notamment l'Agence canadienne de développement international) pour participer à des commissions de réforme du droit venant en aide à des pays au système juridique en évolution. Depuis les deux dernières décennies, par exemple, un travail de réforme du droit s'opère au Vietnam, en Chine et en Russie sous l'égide de l'Institut. Dans ces engagements de l'IDC, on trouve l'accomplissement du grand potentiel que le doyen Lee avait prédit il y a près d'un siècle.

 

Sources:

Brierley, JEC. « Developments in Legal Education at McGill, 1970-1980 » (1982-83) 7:2 Dal LJ 364.

Frost, Stanley, & David L Johnston.  « Law at McGill: Past, Present and Future » (1981-82) 27 RD McGill 31.

Hobbins, AJ. « ‘A Couple of Generations Ahead of Popular Demand’: The First National Law Program at McGill University, 1918-1924 » (2008) 31:1 Dal LJ 181.

Lee, Robert Warden.  « The Place of Roman Law in Legal Education » (1923) 1:2 R du B Can 132.

Macdonald, Roderick A.  « The National Law Programme at McGill: Origins, Establishment, Prospects » (1990) 13:1 Dal LJ 211.

Price, TW. « Robert Warden Lee: Cursus Vitae / In Memoriam » [1958] Acta Juridica 1.

« Professor Robert Warden Lee (Editorial) » (1922) 39 SALJ 1.

Sahlas, Peter J. « The Civil Code of the Russian Federation from Foreign and Comparative Law Perspectives: An Introduction » (2005) 30:1 Rev Cent & E Eur L 1.

Divers bulletins de la Faculté de droit, 2000-2010. 

 

Jennifer Anderson

Traduction :  Mireille Fournier

Quick Links

History of the Institute of Comparative Law

Founded in 1966, the Institute of Comparative Law reflects a commitment to comparative legal study and scholarship at McGill that finds its origins in the mid-nineteenth century, when the Faculty of Law was established.

Comparativist from the Outset: McGill Law in the 19th Century

The first degree program in law was offered by what was then McGill College in 1848, under the Faculty of Arts; documentary evidence of the original curriculum suggests that it was “polyjural” in the sense of introducing students to a variety of legal traditions. It was Charles Dewey Day, Principal of McGill College (1853-55) and himself a lawyer and eventual judge, who oversaw the launch of an independent Faculty of Law five years later, in 1853. Day – who would go on to serve as Chancellor of the University (1864-85) – recognized Montreal as a site of intersection among multiple legal traditions. Capitalizing on this unique confluence, he sought to establish an academic program in which future leaders would be educated in the richness and diversity of legal systems, rather than purely in the “local law in force”; thus, Justinian’s Institutes, the Coutume de Paris (the civil law in force in Quebec until 1866), and Blackstone’s Commentaries together formed the basis of the B.C.L. program. At the same time, scholarship by both professors and students constituted an important feature of the Faculty of Law. 

Charles Dewey Day, McGill University Archives

At the turn of the nineteenth century, the comparativist focus of the Faculty was further bolstered by the appointment of Frederick Parker Walton as Dean (1897-1914). As a scholar of Roman law rather than a practising lawyer as all previous Deans had been, the Oxford-trained Walton emphasized the importance of legal history and the emerging field of comparative law – including Roman law – as tools in the formation of legal professionals. While the Faculty’s primary mandate under Walton was the training of practising lawyers, his commitment to legal science as the path to professional development resulted in a strengthening of the Faculty’s intellectual standing and reinforced its position within the University community. In his own comparative law research, Dean Walton was one of the earliest scholars to examine “mixed jurisdictions” that combined the civil and common law traditions, including both Scotland (where he was born) and Quebec. Over the course of his years at McGill, he also endeavoured to develop a methodology for the study and interpretation of Quebec’s Civil Code of Lower Canada (1866) by drawing on principles of the new German Civil Code (Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch, 1900).

A “Place of World Resort”: McGill’s Comparativist Mission in the 20th Century

Dean Lee, McGill University Archives, PR141561
The next Dean, Robert Warden Lee (1915-21), continued the tradition of comparative law at McGill. Prior to coming to McGill, Dean Lee taught law at both Oxford and University College London, holding the chair in Roman-Dutch law at the latter. At the same time, he practised not only the common law but also the civil law in cases on appeal to the Privy Council from Ceylon, where he had first developed an interest in Roman-Dutch law while working in the civil service. While Dean at McGill, Lee expanded on Walton’s mixed-jurisdiction research, produced a major textbook on Roman-Dutch law, and published on issues of comparative law across the British Empire. Like Walton before him, Dean Lee was also a Romanist, and his understanding of the value of studying Roman law – a subject he taught at McGill – captures the broader comparativist agenda to which the Faculty adheres to this day:

 

A law student must learn the laws of his country. Granted. But he must approach them with a mind free and unrestrained, not with that of a slave. He must know how to rise above them, to see them in a proper perspective, to take the larger view, to form a rational and critical estimate of their strength and weakness. Now there is no better, perhaps no other, method of fostering the right habit of mind than the comparative study of more than one system. (Lee, infra, at 136) 

Scholastically, Dean Lee aimed to return the Faculty to its roots – that is, to educate a broad base of students beyond those destined for legal practice; in his view, McGill should become “the scene of a great school of law in which the science of law will be studied in its comparative and international aspects. Such a school of law would be a place of world resort and world-wide influence and renown” (Robert Warden Lee, “The Law Faculty of McGill University: its past, present and future”, undated typed memorandum, MUA, RG2, Cont 64, File 1172, cited in Hobbins, infra, at 189-90). To this end, he reintroduced common law study into the B.C.L. program as a complement to the civil law, which had been the exclusive focus of the curriculum since the adoption of Quebec’s Civil Code half a century earlier. Moreover, for the first time in McGill’s history, Lee established a master’s degree in law, underscoring the vocation of the Faculty in training future legal scholars. (For more information about R. W. Lee, please see this short biography.)

Percy Corbett, McGill News/McGill University Archives, PR000459

Research became a particularly significant feature of the Faculty of Law under the leadership of a subsequent Dean, Percy Corbett (1928-36). A Romanist like Walton and Lee, Dean Corbett successfully advocated for a special fund to publish faculty scholarship, created new awards for graduate study and legal writing, and instituted an undergraduate thesis requirement for the first time since the turn of the century.

By the 1950s, comparative law had come into its own as a discipline around the world, including at McGill. New faculty with comparativist interests were appointed and the Faculty of Law introduced its first formal comparative law seminars, one of which was taught by Professor Louis Beaudouin, who went on to publish a groundbreaking study of comparative law in Quebec, Le droit civil du Québec: modèle vivant de droit comparé. The same decade witnessed tremendous growth in the Faculty’s research stature and output, in both comparative law and more traditional disciplines. By 1960, Maxwell Cohen (Acting Dean, later to become Dean, 1964-69) would identify comparative law as first among all the research areas in which the Faculty particularly excelled.

A New Home for Comparativist Research and Graduate Studies: Birth of the Institute of Comparative Law


Maxwell Cohen, Brian M. Smith/McGill University Archives, PR039217
Six years later, in 1966, Dean Cohen spearheaded the creation of a new graduate institute, supported by a major investment in research funding by the Ford Foundation: the Institute of Foreign and Comparative Law, subsequently renamed the Institute of Comparative Law (ICL). With J.J. Gow, then the Gale Professor of Roman Law, as its first director, the Institute was intended to reassert McGill’s position at the forefront of legal education by serving as a conduit for new developments in legal research. Shortly after its founding, the Institute introduced a number of graduate electives open to undergraduate and graduate students alike. The teaching mission of the Institute – and the new faculty it attracted – laid the groundwork for the reestablishment of an LL.B. option at McGill for the first time since Robert Warden Lee had been Dean. In 1968, Professor Gow was succeeded as Director of the ICL by H.R. Hahlo, who reoriented the Institute towards research and graduate studies. From that point onwards, the Institute became the locus of all graduate degree study in law at McGill, outside of air and space law studies (the Institute of Air and Space Law having been founded in 1951).

In 1975, Paul-André Crépeau acceded to the Directorship of the ICL. The Faculty and the ICL especially became reinvigorated as their civil law scholars were able to return their attention to research output after many years devoted to the civil code revision project. Comparative private law and international business law developed into important research specialties for the ICL, and a specific teaching program focused on the latter was introduced under the auspices of the Institute in 1977. By the end of the 1970s, the ICL was welcoming approximately 20 new graduate students each year, many from outside Canada. New concentrations in health law and international human rights law were established in the following decade.

From the 1980s onwards, the comparativist methodology that was by now so central to the research and graduate studies of the Faculty began to assert itself in the undergraduate program, thereby enhancing the unity of McGill Law profile. This development coincided with a new aim of the ICL to formulate a distinctive theory of comparative law that could directly inform the Faculty’s unique undergraduate program; the project was led in part by H. Patrick Glenn, the current president of the American Society of Comparative Law, who became Director of the Institute in 1989.

Global Research, Global Connections: The ICL in the 21st Century

While playing a prominent role in the identity and advancement of the Faculty of Law and its programs, the ICL has been equally engaged in external developments in law. The Institute has been the site of a breadth of scholarly projects undertaken in partnership with other juridical organizations, and has a history of relations with international bodies committed to issues of arbitration and private international law. The ICL has also been solicited by agencies, notably the Canadian International Development Agency, to pursue commissioned law reform projects in countries with evolving legal systems. In the last two decades, for example, work on law reform in Vietnam, China, and Russia has been completed under the ICL’s aegis. In these and other endeavours of the ICL, one finds the fulfillment of the promise that Dean Lee foretold almost a century ago.

Sources:

Brierley, JEC. “Developments in Legal Education at McGill, 1970-1980” (1982-83) 7:2 Dal LJ 364.

Frost, Stanley, & David L Johnston. “Law at McGill: Past, Present and Future” (1981-82) 27 McGill LJ 31.

Hobbins, AJ. “‘A Couple of Generations Ahead of Popular Demand’: The First National Law Program at McGill University, 1918-1924” (2008) 31:1 Dal LJ 181.

Lee, Robert Warden. “The Place of Roman Law in Legal Education” (1923) 1:2 Can Bar Rev 132.

Macdonald, Roderick A. “The National Law Programme at McGill: Origins, Establishment, Prospects” (1990) 13:1 Dal LJ 211.

Price, TW. “Robert Warden Lee: Cursus Vitae / In Memoriam” [1958] Acta Juridica 1.

“Professor Robert Warden Lee (Editorial)” (1922) 39 SALJ 1.

Sahlas, Peter J. “The Civil Code of the Russian Federation from Foreign and Comparative Law Perspectives: An Introduction” (2005) 30:1 Rev Cent & E Eur L 1.

Various McGill Faculty of Law newsletters, 2000-2010.

 

Jennifer Anderson