Quick Links


Don Baker - 2014 Peacock Medal from the Mineralogical Association of Canada (MAC)

Feb 14, 2014 - It is with pleasure that we announce that Don Baker is the recipient of the 2014 Peacock Medal from MAC. The Peacock Medal formerly the Past-Presidents' Medal is awarded to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the mineral sciences in Canada. There is no restriction regarding nationality or residency. The medal is intended to recognize the breadth and universality of these contributions in mineralogy, applied mineralogy, petrology, crystallography, geochemistry or the study of mineral deposits rather than in a narrow area of expertise. Congratulations Don!

Boswell Wing - 2014 Gledden Visiting Fellowship at UWA

Aug 28, 2013 - We are please to announce that Boswell Wing has been awarded a 2014 Gledden Visiting Fellowship with the School of Earth and Environment at The University of Western Australia. This fellowship is one of the most prestigious awards given by the University and Boz's selection as a Gledden Fellow is reflective of both his distinguished research record and for the opportunity that his visit will provide for ongoing collaboration with UWA. Congratulations Boz!

Andrew Hynes - 2013 Mentorship Medal of the Canadian Federation of Earth Sciences (CFES)

Jan 9, 2013 - We are pleased to announce that Andrew Hynes has been selected to receive the CFES National Earth Science Mentorship Medal. The CFES mentorship medal was created in 2008 to recognize the sustained and inspirational mentorship of colleagues and employees including peers, graduate students, undergraduate students and technicians. It is presented annually to an individual from Canadian academia, government or industry. The sole criterion for the medal is excellence in mentoring over a sustained period of time.

John Stix - 2012 GAC Career Achievement Award

Feb 28, 2012 - We are very pleased to announce that John Stix has been selected to receive the Geological Association of Canada's (GAC) 2012 Career Achievement Award -Volcanology and Igneous Petrology (VIP) Division. The award is in recognition of John's outstanding accomplishments in the field of volcanology and igneous petrology, and will be presented to him during this year's GAC/MAC Annual Meeting in St. John's (NF) in May. Congratulations, John! 

AE Williams-Jones - Willet G. Miller Medal

Feb 28, 2012 - We are pleased to announce that AE (Willy) Williams-Jones has been selected to receive the 2011 Willet G. Miller Medal of the Royal Society of Canada. The Willet G. Miller Medal is awarded for outstanding research in any branch of the earth sciences. The committee mandated to select the winner of the Willet G. Miller Medal is composed of disciplinary peers who are Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada. Willy will be presented the medal at the induction ceremony of the new RSC fellows on November 26th at the Convention Center in Ottawa. 

Alfonso Mucci - GAC 2011 Michael J. Keen Medal

May 6, 2011 - We are pleased to inform you that Alfonso Mucci will be awarded the 2011 Michael J. Keen Medal for his contributions in the field of Marine and Lacustrine Geosciences - Marine Geosciences Division of the Geological Association of Canada. Congratulations Alfonso!

Willy Williams-Jones - GAC Logan Medal

May 5, 2011 - We are pleased to announce that Willy Williams-Jones has been named the recipient of the Geological Association of Canada's Logan Medal. The Logan Medal is the highest award presented to an individual for sustained distinguished achievement in Canadian earth science by the Geological Association of Canada at it's annual meeting in Ottawa (May 2011). Congratulations Willy.

Gregor Lucic - 2011 Fessenden Prize

Apr 26, 2011 - It is with great pleasure that we announce that Gregor Lucic (M.Sc.) has won the 2011 Reginald Fessenden Prize in Innovation for his excellent work, coupled with a thorough understanding of its commericalization potential and pathway, in the research project entitled "A crowd-sourced C02 assay for the Montreal urban environment". Congratulations, Gregor!