2016-2017 Seminars

Winter 2017

February 2017 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Feb. 17
3:30, L429
Maciej Kotowski (Harvard Kennedy School)
"Endowments, Exclusions, and Exchange" (coauthored paper with Ivan Balbuzanov, U. of Melbourne)
L. Xue
Friday, Feb. 24
3:30, L429
Karen Kopecky (Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta)
"Old, frail, and uninsured: Accounting for puzzles in the U.S. long-term care insurance market"
D. Barczyk
March 2017 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Mar. 10
3:30, L429
Suresh Naidu (Columbia University)
"Political Language in Economics"
F. Amodio
Friday, Mar. 17
3:30, L429
Sara Moreira (Kellogg, Northwestern)
"Firm Dynamics, Persistent Effects of Entry Conditions, and Business Cycles"
M. Poschke
Friday, Mar. 24
3:30, L429
Andrew Ching (Rotman School of Management, Toronto)
“Identification and Estimation of Forward-looking Behavior: The Case of Consumer Stockpiling”
L. Lasio
Friday, Mar. 31
3:30, L429
Jason Abrevaya (University of Texas, Austin)
“Interval-Censored Regression with Fixed Effects”
S. Chaudhuri
April 2017 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Apr. 7
3:30, L429
Hector Chade (Arizona State University) T. Papageorgiou
Friday, Apr. 21
3:30, L429
Nicolas Klein (Universite de Montreal)
“Relational Contracts with Private Information: The Upside of Implicit Downsizing Costs”
(joint with Matthias Fahn)
R. Dutta
May 2017 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, May 12
3:30, L429
Andrea Pozzi (EIEF)
"Distorted advice in mortgage markets: Theory and structural estimation"
(joint with Leonardo Gambacorta, Luigi Guiso, Paolo Mistrulli and Anton Tsoy)
L. Lasio

Fall 2016

September 2016 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Sep. 9
3:30, L429
Giacomo De Giorgi (Federal Reserve, New York)
“Moral Hazard in the Credit Market”
F. Ruge-Murcia
Friday, Sep. 23
3:30, L429
Kirill Evdokimov (Princeton University)
"Inference in an Instrumental Variables Model with Heterogeneous Treatment Effects"
(joint work with Michal Kolesar)
S. Chaudhuri
Friday, Sep. 30
3:30, L429
Corina Mommaerts (Yale)
"Long-Term Care Insurance and the Family"
D. Barczyk
October 2016 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Oct. 7
3:30, L429
Dietrich Vollrath (University of Houston)
“The Role of Crop Types in Cross-Country Income Differences”
F. Alvarez Cuadrado
Thursday, Oct. 20
3:30, L738
Anja Sautmann (Brown)
“Subsidies, Information, and the Timing of Children’s Health Care in Mali”
J. Li
Friday, Oct. 21
3:30, L429
Ilze Kalnina (Universite de Montreal)
"Cross-Sectional Dependence in Idiosyncratic Volatility"
S. Chaudhuri
Friday, Oct. 28
3:30, L429
Hannes Ullrich (DIW Berlin and University of Zurich)
“Assessing the Impact of Payment Card Fee Regulation”
L. Lasio
November 2016 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Nov. 4
3:30, BRONF 310
Mehmet Caner (Ohio State University)
"Inference in Partially Identified Models with Many Moment Inequalities using Lasso"
Montreal Econometrics Seminar
S. Chaudhuri
Friday, Nov. 11
3:30, L429
Arnab Mukheri (IIM Bangalore)
“Cash for Votes: Evidence from India”
F. Amodio
Friday, Nov. 11
3:30, L738
Simon Lee (Columbia)
“Best Subset Binary Prediction" (joint with Le-Yu Chen)
Montreal Econometrics Seminar
S. Chaudhuri
Friday, Nov. 18
3:30, L429
Paola Giuliano (UCLA Anderson School of Management)
“Long Term Orientation and Educational Performance”
F. Amodio
Friday, Nov. 25
3:30, L429
TBA TBA
December 2016 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Dec. 2
3:30, L429
Michel Serafinelli (Toronto)
"Creativity over Time and Space" (joint with G. Tabellini)
F. Amodio
Friday, Dec. 9
3:30, L429
Ilse Lindenlaub (Yale)
"Multidimensional Sorting under Random Search"
T. Papageorgiou