Quick Links

2004-2005

Winter 2005

 

Friday, March 4, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, Katherine Baicker (Dartmouth College),
Fiscal Shenangans, Targeted Federal Health Care Funds, and Patient Mortality [.pdf]

Wednesday, March 9, in Leacock 517 at 2:30pm, Maristella Botticini (Boston University),
From Farmers to Merchants: A Human Capital Interpretation of Jewish Economic History [.pdf]

Friday, March 11, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, Ed Hopkins, CIREQ visitor, (University of Edinburgh),
Job Market Signaling of Relative Position, or Becker Married to Spence [.pdf]

Friday, March 18, in Arts 160 at 1:30pm, Dean Karlan (Princeton University),
Observing Unobservables: Identifying Information Asymmetries with a Consumer Credit Field Experiment [.pdf]

Wednesday, March 30, in Leacock 517 at 2:30pm, Jean-Laurent Rosenthal (UCLA),
Corporate Governance and the Plight of Minority Shareholders in the United States [.pdf]

Friday, April 1, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, Amitabh Chandra (Dartmouth College),
Testing a Roy Model with Productivity Spillovers: Evidence from the Treatment of Heart Attacks [.pdf]

Friday, April 22, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, Marco Mariotti (Queen Mary University of London), joint with CIREQ

Friday, April 29, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, Jim Andreoni (University of Wisconsin), joint with CIREQ,
Trust, Reciprocity, and Contract Enforcement: Experiments on Satisfaction Guaranteed [.pdf]

Thursday, May 5, in Leacock 429 at 3:00pm, Prajit Dutta (Columbia University),
Strategic Analysis of Global Warming [.pdf]

Friday, May 6, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, in Leacock 232 at 1:30pm, Eiichi Miyagawa , CIREQ visitor, (Columbia University)

 

Fall 2004

 

Wednesday, September 15, 3:30pm in Leacock 517: Stephen Broadberry (University of Warwick, UK),
"Cotton Textiles and the Great Divergence: Lancashire, India, and Shifting Comparative Advantage 1600-1850"

Friday, October 1: William Thomson (University of Rochester),
A new solution to the problem of adjuticating conflicting claims [.pdf]

Friday, October 8: Ray Fisman (Columbia Business School)
Governance and CEO Turnover: Do Something Right or Do the Right Thing? [.pdf]

Friday, October 15: Kenneth Judd (Hoover Institution),
The Optimal Tax on Capital Income is Negative [.pdf]

Wednesday, October 20, 2:30pm in Leacock 541: Joseph Ferrie (Northwestern University),
The End of American Exceptionalism: Economic Mobility in the U.S. Since 1850 [.pdf]

Montreal Theory Seminar, joint with Concordia and University of Montreal:
Monday, October 25, 3:30pm in Leacock 232: Matthew Jackson (California Institute of Technology),
Search and Random Attachment in the Formation of Large Networks [.pdf]

Friday, October 29, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Arts 160: Kerwin Charles (University of Michigan)
Male Incarceration, the Marriage Market, and Female Outcomes [.pdf]

Friday, November 5, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Arts 160: Esther Duflo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
"Long run impacts of income shocks: Wine and Phylloxera in 19th century France"

Friday, November 12, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Arts 160: Martin Eichenbaum (Northwestern University)
Firm-Specific Capital, Nominal Rigidities and the Business Cycle [.pdf]

Friday, November 19, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Leacock 721: Charles Noussair (Emory University)
The Impact of Institutions on Economic Growth in Economies with Poverty Traps: An Experimental Approach [.pdf]

Monday, November 22, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Leacock 232: Brian Pinto (World Bank)
Lessons from the Russian Crisis 1998 and Recovery

Friday, December 3, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Arts 160: Roland Fryer (Harvard University),
"On the Measurement of Segregation"

Monday, December 13, 1:30pm - 3:00pm in Leacock 429: Ralf Wilke (ZEW Mannheim)
Reform of Unemployment Compensation in Germany: A Nonparametric Bounds Analysis using Register Data [.pdf]

Tags: