Quick Links

2010-2011 Seminars

Winter 2011

March 2011 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, March 4
3:30, Leacock 429
Todd Stinebrickner (University of Western Ontario)
Math or Science? Using Longitudinal Expectations Data to Examine the Process of Choosing a College Major [.pdf]
M. Chemin
Friday, March 11
3:30, Leacock 429
Charles Zheng (University of Western Ontario)
Robust Collusion in Auctions [.pdf]
L. Xue
Friday, March 11
3:30, Arts 160
Søren Johansen (University of Copenhagen)
Likelihood inference for a fractionally cointegrated vector autoregressive model [.pdf]
Montreal Econometrics Seminar
J-M Dufour
Friday, March 18
CANCELLED
David Figlio (Northwestern University) J. Hunt
Friday, March 25
3:30, Leacock 429
Federico Ravenna (HEC)
"Business Cycles and Labor Market Flows with Heterogeneous Skills"
TBA
Wednesday, March 30
4:00, Leacock 429
Ronald Wendner (Graz)
Learning by investing, embodiment, and speed of convergence [.pdf]
N.V. Long
April 2011 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, April 15
3:30, Leacock 429
Ron Borkovsky (University of Toronto)
"The Timing of Version Releases in R&D-intensive Industries: A Dynamic Duopoly Model"
H. Benchekroun
Friday, April 29
3:30, Leacock 429
Donna Gilleskie (University of North Carolina)
"Disentangling the Contemporaneous and Life-Cycle Effects of Body Mass on Earnings"
E. Strumpf
May 2011 Speaker and Title Organizer
Thursday, May 5
3:30, Leacock 429
Carolina Villegas-Sanchez (University of Houston)
What Hinders Investment in the Aftermath of Financial Crises: Insolvent Firms or Illiquid Banks? [.pdf]
M. Poschke
Friday, May 27
3:30, Leacock 429
Tulin Erdem (NYU, Stern)
"What have we learned from structural learning models?"
M. Sinitsyn

Fall 2010

September 2010 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Sep 10
11:00, L429
Michael Baye (Indiana University)
Horizontal Mergers of Online Firms: Structural Estimation and Competitive Effects [.pdf]
M. Sinitsyn
Friday, Sep 17
11:00, L429
Alain Gabler (Université Laval)
Relative Price Fluctuations in a Multi-Sector Model with Imperfect Competition [.pdf]
M. Poschke
Friday, Sep 24
11:00, L429
Zhiqi Chen (Carleton University, Ottawa)
Unemployment and Product Market Competition in a Cournot Model with Efficiency Wage [.pdf]
L. Xue
October 2010 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Oct 1
11:00, L517
Debesh Chakraborty (Jadavpur University)
Performance and Prospects of a Developing Economy in Keynes-Leontief and Klein Framework [.pdf]
N.V. Long
Friday, Oct 8
11:00, L429
Aysegul Sahin (Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
The Labor Market in the Great Recession [.pdf]
TBA
Friday, Oct 15
11:00, L429
Partha Deb (Hunter College, CUNY)
Dynamic Cost-offsets of Prescription Drug Expenditures: Panel Data Analysis Using a Copula-based Hurdle Model [.pdf]
E. Strumpf
Friday, Oct 22
11:00, L429
Aytek Malkhozov (McGill Desautels Faculty of Management - Finance)
Asset Prices in a News Driven Real Business Cycle Model [.pdf]
M. Poschke
Friday, Oct 29
11:00, L429
Bard Harstad (Northwestern University, Kellogg)
The Dynamics of Climate Agreements [.pdf]
Incomplete Contracts in Dynamic Games [.pdf]
H. Benchekroun
November 2010 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Nov 5
11:00, L429
Wilfried Koch (UQAM)
A Contribution to the Schumpeterian Growth Theory and Empirics [.pdf]
M. Chemin
Friday, Nov 12
11:00, L429
Matthew Mitchell (University of Toronto)
Optimal Patent Policy with Recurrent Innovators [.pdf]
TBA
Wed., Nov 17
3:30, L738
Paul Beaudry (UBC)
How Much is Employment Increased by Cutting Labor Costs [.pdf]
J. Hunt
Monday, Nov 29
1:00, L429
Aloysius Siow (University of Toronto)
"Estimating sibling peer effects in schooling attainment and long run wages"
J. Hunt
December 2010 Speaker and Title Organizer
Friday, Dec 3
3:30, L429
Rui Castro (Université de Montréal)
On the Individual Optimality of Economic Integration
J. Hunt