Quick Links

2013 Cundill Prize Winner

2013 Cundill Prize Award Ceremony

  • To view photos (Ryan Emberley, Photographer), please click here.

  • To view the video (Ian Morris, Videographer), please click here. (password: mcgill)


And the winner of the 2013 Cundill Prize in Historical Literature is …


Anne Applebaum for her book,

Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe 1944-1956 (Allen Lane - Penguin Books / McClelland & Stewart), earning the largest international prize for History, $75,000 (USD)



McGill Reporter, (November 4, 2013)
Four Burning Questions for Anne Applebaum, 2013 Cundill Prize Finalist

National Post, (November 18, 2013)
Anne Applebaum: The agony of liberation


We are also pleased to congratulate the two Recognition of Excellence Award Winners prizes of $10,000 (USD) each:


 Christopher ClarkThe Sleepwalkers: How Europe Went To War In 1914 (HarperCollins / Allen Lane - Penguin Books) 



Fredrik Logevall-Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America's Vietnam (Random House)



The Cundill Prize in Historical Literature at McGill is the world’s most important international nonfiction historical literature prize. It was established in 2008 by McGill alumnus F. Peter Cundill, who passed away in January 2011. The prize is administered by McGill University's Dean of Arts, with the help of the McGill Institute for the Study of Canada (MISC).