Quick Links

Maritza Jaramillo

Professeure adjointe

Centre INRS–Institut Armand-Frappier

531, boulevard des Prairies
Laval (Québec)  H7V 1B7
CANADA

Tél.: 450 687-5010
Fax: 450 686-5389
maritza [dot] jaramillo [at] iaf [dot] inrs [dot] ca (Courriel)

 

Intérêts de recherche

Mon principal intérêt de recherche est de comprendre le rôle du contrôle traductionnel lors des maladies infectieuses. Au cours d’une infection, il y a des interactions constantes entre l’hôte et le pathogène, ce qui détermine l’issue de la maladie. Dans mon laboratoire, nous sommes intéressés à établir : (i) comment le pathogène module la machinerie de traduction de sa cellule hôte afin de survivre, et (ii) comment le contrôle traductionnel influence le développement d’une réponse immune efficace à un agent infectieux. Une meilleure compréhension de comment la cellule immune et, dans l’ensemble, le système immunitaire répondent aux pathogènes contribuera à l’identification de nouveaux cibles thérapeutiques.

1) Contrôle traductionnel lors d’une infection par Leishmania
Nous avons démontré pour la première fois que le contrôle traductionnel est impliqué dans la progression d’une infection parasitaire (la leishmaniose cutanée) et qu’un parasite protozoaire, Leishmania, peut inhiber la machinerie de traduction de sa cellule hôte (le macrophage) afin de survivre. Présentement, nous sommes en train d’identifier les ARNs messagers  (e.g. microbicides, pro-inflammatoires), qui sont ciblés au niveau traductionnel chez les macrophages infectés par Leishmania. De plus, nous visons à identifier les facteurs de la traduction et les signaux intracellulaires impliqués dans la réponse immune lors de l'infection, et ceci à l’aide des modèles cellulaires ainsi que des souris «knock-out». Basé sur nos travaux, il est probable que des régulateurs de la traduction deviennent de cibles avec des applications thérapeutiques contre la leishmaniose. De façon importante, nos résultats mènent à se poser la question si le contrôle traductionnel joue aussi un rôle lors des infections causés par d’autres parasites protozoaires (e.g. Trypanosoma cruzi)  ainsi que par des bactéries intracellulaires (e.g. Salmonella). Afin d’explorer cette possibilité , nous sommes en train de développer des collaborations avec des experts en divers modèles infectieux.

2) Mécanismes moléculaires de l’activation traductionnelle des macrophages par le lipopolysaccharide d’Escherichia coli
L’endotoxine bactérienne lipopolysaccharide (LPS) d’Escherichia coli est l'un des inducteurs les plus puissants des réponses microbicides et inflammatoires chez divers types cellulaires incluant les macrophages. Cependant, la contribution du contrôle traductionnel à cette activation n’a pas été établie. Nos résultats préliminaires indiquent qu’en absence du répresseur de la traduction, 4E-BP1, le LPS déclenche une réponse inflammatoire plus puissant chez les macrophages. Nous sommes en train d’investiguer si le LPS régule la synthèse protéique de novo et si ceci a lieu au niveau de l’initiation de la traduction. Par la suite, nous allons identifier les ARNs messagers dont la traduction est augmentée ainsi que les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués. En somme, nos données aideront à définir la contribution du control traductionnel (versus contrôle transcriptionnel) aux effets antimicrobiens du LPS.

 

Publications récentes

Herdy, B.*,  M. Jaramillo*, Y.V. Svitkin, A. Rosenfeld, M. Kobayashi, D. Walsh, T. Alain, N. Robichaud, I. Topisirovic, L. Furic, R. J.O. Dowling, A. Sylvestre, L. Rong, R. Colina, M. Costa-Mattioli, J.H. Fritz, M. Olivier, E. Brown, I. Mohr and N. Sonenberg. 2012.
Translational control of the activation of transcription factor NF-kappaB and production of type I interferon by phosphorylation of the translation factor eIF4E. Nature Immunology 13: 543-550.
*These authors equally contributed to this work.

Jaramillo, M, M.A. Gomez, O. Larsson, M.T. Shio, I. Topisirovic, I. Contreras, R. Luxenburg, A. Rosenfeld, R. Colina, R. McMaster, M. Olivier, M. Costa-Mattioli and N. Sonenberg. 2011.
Leishmania Repression of Host Translation through mTOR Cleavage is Required for Parasite Survival and Infection.Cell and Host Microbe. 9: 331-41.

Jaramillo, M., M-J. Bellemare, C. Martel, A.P. Contreras, M. Godbout, M. Roger, E. Gaudreault, J. Gosselin, D.S. Bohle and M. Olivier. 2009.
Synthetic Plasmodium-Like Hemozoin Activates the Immune Response per se: A Structure - Function Study.PLoS ONE 4:e6957.

Colina, R.*, M. Costa-Mattioli*, R.J.O. Dowling, M. Jaramillo, L. Tai, C.J. Breitbach, Y. Martineau, O. Larsson, L. Rong, Y.V. Svitkin, A.P. Makrigiannis, J.C. Bell and N. Sonenberg. 2008.
Translational control of the innate immune response through IRF-7.Nature 452:323-328.
*These authors contributed equally to this work.

 

Publications - Maritza Jaramillo

Quick Links

Maritza Jaramillo

Assistant Professor

INRS–Institut Armand-Frappier

Research Centre
531, boulevard des Prairies
Laval (Québec)  H7V 1B7
CANADA

Tel.: 450 687-5010
Fax: 450 686-5389
maritza [dot] jaramillo [at] iaf [dot] inrs [dot] ca (Email)

 

Research Interests

My main research interest is to understand the role of translational control in infectious diseases. During the infection process there is a constant interplay between the host and the pathogen that determines the outcome of the disease. In my laboratory, we investigate: (i) how the pathogen modulates the translation machinery of the host in order to survive, and (ii) how translational control influences the development of an efficient immune response to an infectious agent. Understanding how cell and, ultimately, patient immune responses are regulated will contribute to identify new potential points of therapeutic intervention.

1) Translational control during Leishmania infection
We demonstrated for the first time that translational control is involved in the progression of a parasitic infection (cutaneous leishmaniasis) and that a protozoan parasite, Leishmania, can inhibit the translation initiation machinery of the macrophage, its host cell. We are currently identifying the mRNAs (e.g. microbicidal, pro-inflammatory), which are targeted in Leishmania-infected macrophages at the translational level. We also aim to identify the translation factors and the underlying intracellular signals involved in the immune response to Leishmania, using cellular and knock-out mouse models. Based on our work, regulators of translation might emerge as potential targets with therapeutic applications against leishmaniasis. Importantly, our findings raise the possibility that translational control also participates in infections caused by other protozoan parasites (e.g. Trypanosoma cruzi) and intracellular bacteria (e.g. Salmonella). To explore this possibility, we are currently developing collaborative projects with experts in various infectious models.

2) Molecular mechanisms of macrophage translational activation by Escherichia coli lipopolysaccharide
The Gram-negative bacterial endotoxin lipopolysaccharide (LPS) is one of the most potent inducers of inflammatory and antimicrobial responses in a number of immune cells, including macrophages. However, the implication of translational control in macrophage activation by LPS has been poorly studied. Our preliminary data indicate that LPS triggres a stronger inflammatory response in absence of the translational repressor 4E-BP1. We are currently investigating whether LPS regulates macrophage de novo protein synthesis and whether this occurs at the translation initiation step. Next, we will identify the mRNAs whose translation is enhanced by LPS and we will elucidate the molecular mechanisms involved. Altogether, our data will help to define the contribution of translational control (versus transcriptional regulation) to the inflammatory and antimicrobial effects mediated by LPS.

 

Selected Publications 

Herdy, B.*,  M. Jaramillo*, Y.V. Svitkin, A. Rosenfeld, M. Kobayashi, D. Walsh, T. Alain, N. Robichaud, I. Topisirovic, L. Furic, R. J.O. Dowling, A. Sylvestre, L. Rong, R. Colina, M. Costa-Mattioli, J.H. Fritz, M. Olivier, E. Brown, I. Mohr and N. Sonenberg. 2012.
Translational control of the activation of transcription factor NF-kappaB and production of type I interferon by phosphorylation of the translation factor eIF4E. Nature Immunology 13: 543-550.
*These authors equally contributed to this work.

Jaramillo, M, M.A. Gomez, O. Larsson, M.T. Shio, I. Topisirovic, I. Contreras, R. Luxenburg, A. Rosenfeld, R. Colina, R. McMaster, M. Olivier, M. Costa-Mattioli and N. Sonenberg. 2011.
Leishmania Repression of Host Translation through mTOR Cleavage is Required for Parasite Survival and Infection.Cell and Host Microbe. 9: 331-41.

Jaramillo, M., M-J. Bellemare, C. Martel, A.P. Contreras, M. Godbout, M. Roger, E. Gaudreault, J. Gosselin, D.S. Bohle and M. Olivier. 2009.
Synthetic Plasmodium-Like Hemozoin Activates the Immune Response per se: A Structure - Function Study.PLoS ONE 4:e6957.

Colina, R.*, M. Costa-Mattioli*, R.J.O. Dowling, M. Jaramillo, L. Tai, C.J. Breitbach, Y. Martineau, O. Larsson, L. Rong, Y.V. Svitkin, A.P. Makrigiannis, J.C. Bell and N. Sonenberg. 2008.
Translational control of the innate immune response through IRF-7.Nature 452:323-328.
*These authors contributed equally to this work.

 

Publications - Maritza Jaramillo