Six McGill Law Students to Clerk at Supreme Court of Canada in 2014


Six students of McGill's Faculty of Law will serve as law clerks to justices of the Supreme Court of Canada in 2014. They are Marc-André Roy (Justice Cromwell), Nicola Langille (Justice Fish’s successor), , Zain Naqi (Justice Moldaver), Molly Krishtalka (Justice Karakatsanis), Ian Dahlman (Justice LeBel’s successor), and Marcus Moore (Chief Justice McLachlin) [not in photo]. They are all in their third year of the BCL/LLB program.

"As always, we’re very proud to be sending students from McGill to contribute to the work of the Court," said Professor Shauna Van Praagh, this year's Faculty coordinator for the Supreme Court clerkships. Law clerks research points of law, prepare memoranda and generally assist their Judge in the work of the Court.

Law graduates from across Canada apply for the prestigious clerkships; only 27 are chosen. Five McGill law students secured Supreme Court clerkships for 2013; six more were chosen the year before that.

Congratulations on our newest cohort!

On photo, left to right: Marc-André Roy, Nicola Langille, Zain Naqi, Molly Krishtalka & Ian Dahlman. Absent: Marcus Moore.