New Faculty of Law prize named for James Robb, BA'51, BCL'54, AdE


This year, the Faculty's Advisory Board has created a prize to honour volunteer work by graduates and friends in the Faculty of Law. In the same spirit as the F.R. Scott Award, created in 2004 to recognize those who have contributed in a significant way to law and to the life of the Faculty, the James Robb Award is designed to celebrate those who nobly give of their time and efforts to support the Faculty of Law in its academic endeavours.

The prize was announced on June 13, 2007, at the Advisory Board's annual social event, and is named in honour of James Robb, BA'51, BCL'54, who, as a former McGill Governor and former president of the Alumni Association, is one of McGill's most famous volunteers.

James Robb, who has helped on many fronts in the Faculty, including with initiatives for the Stikeman Chair, the Rothman Scholarship and a project for the 50th homecoming of the class of 1954, was named its first recipient. A distinguished practitioner and a man of distinction, James Robb was recently recognized as an emeritus advocate by the Quebec Bar.