New exchange agreements


APPC recently approved a multilateral exchange agreement for North American students studying North America, linking eight universities within the Program for North American Mobility in Higher Education (the University of Alberta, Carleton University and McGill University in Canada; the Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas A.C. and the Universidad Autonóma de Sinaloa in Mexico; and American University, the University of California, San Diego, and Columbia University in the United States). The project is aimed at developing shared elements and a shared vision in the curricula of the partner universities, and at fostering exchanges of students, both graduate and undergraduate. Among other things, the consortium will develop a joint course, Introduction to North American Studies, offered by means of distance-learning technologies. For McGill, this pooling of resources means a substantially strengthened North American Studies Program.

APPC also approved a bilateral exchange agreement with the University of Virginia.