McGill's latest Canada Research Chairs


$2.9-million in federal funds to be shared by one new, three renewed CRCs

Four McGill University researchers working in neuroscience, neurobiology, pharmacology and the history of medicine are among the 109 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs announced November 29 by the Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry and minister responsible for the Canada Research Chairs Program.

McGill received one new Tier-1 Chair, with three Tier-2 Chair renewals, all in the health area, for a total of $2,900,000. In addition to that amount, the Canada Foundation for Innovation is investing approximately $244,000 to fund research infrastructure essential to the work done by Dr. Salah El Mestikawy, the newly appointed Tier-1 Canada Research Chair in Neurobiology.

The Government of Canada created the Canada Research Chairs (CRC) program in 2000 to establish 2,000 research professorships across the country by 2008, with the aim of making Canada one of the world's top five countries for research and development. Since then, McGill has used its CRCs to recruit an exceptional group of international researchers as well as to repatriate a number of outstanding Canadian and Québécois researchers from postings abroad.

"As demonstrated in Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada's Advantage, the Government of Canada is committed to improving Canada's international reputation for research excellence," said the Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry and Minister responsible for the Canada Research Chairs program. "By investing in the Canada Research Chairs program, we are helping universities recruit and retain the most brilliant and promising researchers, and contributing to enable these institutions to become leaders in the fields of advanced science and technology."

McGill's Canada Research Chairs appointed November 2007:

Jorge L. Armony
Tier 2 (Renewal)
Canada Research Chair in Affective Neuroscience

Derek Bowie
Tier 2 (Renewal)
Canada Research Chair in Receptor Pharmacology

Salah El Mestikawy
Tier 1
Canada Research Chair in Neurobiology

Thomas Schlich
Tier 2 (Renewal)
Canada Research Chair in History of Medicine

University total: $2,900,000

Contact Information

Mark Shainblum
McGill University
mark.shainblum [at]
Office Phone: