McGill Wins 2009 Charles-Rousseau Moot and Takes Six Prizes


The 25th edition of the Charles-Rousseau public international law moot was held May 2-8 at the Université Libre de Bruxelles in Belgium. Twenty teams from the francophonie participated. The McGill team,composed of Louis-Antoine Côté, Noémie Bégin, Sophie Tremblay and Alice Monet, was awarded the Charles-Rousseau Prize for the 1st place team, winning the final round against Université Paris I - Sorbonne.

Furthermore, Louis-Antoine, Noémie, Sophie and Alice were respectively awarded prizes for the 6th, 7th, 8th, and 10th best oralist during the preliminary rounds. Noémie was also awarded a special prize for best mooter of the final round, a prize which she received from François Rousseau, the son of Charles Rousseau.

The team was coached by alumni Pierre-Olivier Savoie, BCL/LLB'05, who is currently clerking for to Justice Marie Deschamps at the Supreme Court of Canada, and Me Horia Bundaru, BCL/LLB'05, from Ogilvy Renault.

The team would like to extend its warm thanks to alumni Simon Chamberland, BCL/LLB'05, Jérôme Lussier, BA'97, BCL/LLB'03, Jean-Frédérick Ménard, BCL/LLB'05, and Rébecca St-Pierre, BCL/LLB'05, for judging practice rounds.

The Charles-Rousseau moot in international law was created in 1985 and is named for one of the most eminent authors of post-war French doctrine on international law, Charles Rousseau (1902-1993).

On photo: Alice Monet, Noémie Bégin, Louis-Antoine Côté, Sophie Tremblay and coach Pierre-Olivier Savoie receiving the Charles-Rousseau Prize in Brussels.